Lower Cathedral Lake in Yosemite After A Thunderstorm

in #photofeed6 years ago


image.png
Click on image to view larger

Lower Cathedral Lake in Yosemite After A Thunderstorm

I caught this on a short backcountry backpacking trip in the Tuolumne Meadows area in Yosemite National Park.

To get here, the trailhead is just west of the Tuolumne Meadows Visitor Center. It's fairly popular nowadays and you'll have to contend with finding a good parking spot. The parking alone will probably add to the short 6-mile roundtrip hike. Bears are known to frequent the area so there is a bear canister requirement to stash your food.

To access this trail, start hiking on the John Muir Trail for roughly 3 kilometers. The John Muir Trail climbs steeply through a lodgepole pine forest, levels out and crosses several branches of Cathedral Creek, and then climbs steeply again until the road levels out at the base of Cathedral Peak. At This Time, the John Muir Trail widens and becomes sandy as it proceeds into the junction of the Lower Cathedral Lake Trail, where the Lower Cathedral Trail begins.

Turn right and follow the road for approximately .5 miles through regions of wildflowers that bloom in the summer until you arrive at the seat of the bedrock of the lake. You may have to rock hop a small creek along the way at a meadow based on the time of year. You can see a rust line on the rocks, which indicates the high water mark when the meadows are flooded in the early part of the season as the snow melts.

There's are areas to relax and warm up in sunlight, or you can continue to work your way around on the right-hand side of this lake, following the road to its terminus. Though rather cold, this relatively shallow lake provides many opportunities for swimming or simply relaxing on the warm stones along the edge of the lake. There are many hikers here since this is a popular trail due to it's proximity to Tioga Road and the John Muir Trail, but there's a big area to spread out along the coastline.

If you hike to the end of the trail on the right side of the lake to explore the lake's outlet, views of Polly Dome, Pywiack Dome, Mount Hoffman, Tenaya Peak and some of Tenaya Lake can be easily seen. When you are done exploring, you can blaze the trail back to your vehicle or simply pitch a tent and enjoy a night under the stars.

Have you hiked a trail in Tuolumne Meadows?


CategoryLandscape
ExposureManual exposure, 1/3 sec, f/8, ISO 100
CameraCanon 5D MII
LensCanon 24mm TSE
FilterPolarizer & Graduated Neutral Density Filter
LocationYosemite, California

"Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness." - Mark Twain

All photos are taken and articles are written by Adonis Villanueva of Always Wanderlust unless otherwise stated.

SOMETHING VERY EXITING IS COMING OUT SOON - APPICS

GET UP TO 2X YOUR VOTE VALUE - Steem Follower
GET MORE FOLLOWERS -

Steem Engine / https://steemengine.net/join?r=229

Have a Laugh!
The Spider in the Patio
Detained for Drugs in Norway
Unforgettable Ride on a Chicken Bus

The Love Valley


Twitter Page, AlwaysWanderlust
Facebook Page, AlwaysWanderlust
Instagram Page, AlwaysWanderlust
Website, AlwaysWanderlust.com

Join the Steemit Travellers on Discord

© 2017 AlwaysWanderlust.com All Rights Reserved

Sort:  

Beautiful picture. A trip worth taking, I’m sure!

That is an amazing shot.

Those colors are UNREAL! I've still never been to Yosemite, and it makes me sad. I should fix that this summer! RRROOOAAADDD TTTRRRIIIPPP!!!

The thunderstorm was over as quickly as it had began, revealing an incredible sky. The hues of blue and purple lit up the forest floor like a concert. The travellers who had sought shelter in their tents, started to emerge. Only then did they notice the man standing in the middle of the clearing. He was naked, but unashamed.

The man looked at them and his voice boomed- "I have returned. I am Thor, son of Odin."

The travellers cowered at the sound of his voice.

"Hey, has anyone seen my hammer?"


Post Stories by @jfolkmann

Thor's hammer? I hid it under a rock ;)

STUNNING

The reflections in the water are just awesome. The purple clouds are pretty nice !!! 🌅

Beautiful photo, i was also same type of photography.

FB_IMG_1517901856994.jpg

beautifully interesting

this looks so amazing !!!
awesome shot, thanks for sharing :)

@adonisabril. Amazing and well accomplished landscape capture. May I ask wich ND filter did you use for it?
Thanks for sharing it!

It's Hi-Tech filters

This is one of the most beautiful pictures I've seen! Did you edit it at all? :-)

Polarizer, GND and my normal LR workflow :) It's the best sunset I've ever seen in Yosemite.

What do you think of LR? I'm using it on my phone but I'm considering getting it on my laptop instead :-)

Better on laptop :)

Way better? It's 10$ a month, right? :-)

I have the non cloud version.

And what does that mean? I honestly don't know much about it, haha :-)

beautiful landscapes.

this is a very beautiful place that can not be forgotten.

Good luck, in your walk to achieve goals

Beautiful photo. And I enjoyed reading your write up on the adventure. Good work. My brothers and I made it out to Yosemite National Park this past summer, but did not do this hike.

It's fairly short but moderate.

just wow! what a photography.

This is absolutely stunning! I love your work!

wow.. amazing place. 😍
wish one day i can travel there.
keep sharing buddy :) best of luck

Cool photography

Thank you adonisabril for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 6.10% on this post!

Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem!

The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me!

For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily?

To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

This post has received a 4.19 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @adonisabril.

Ooh this is stunning place, i wish i could go there some day. It is really cool to see how many incredible places you have been.

This post has received a 11.68 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @adonisabril

Its admirable post dear......

Adonis,
It looks and feels like the electrified rain, cleaned the air just perfectly for you to use your camera magic.
I have been here but I don't remember it being as majestically colored like this.
I just looked up your D5, just to salivate over the quality of such a piece of equipment.
I have an early Canon eos, my things have changed.
I had a bear climbed a tree and get our stash of food, and somehow opened a jar of jelly...yes a canister is better.
L

After a storm it's fantastic!

If you haven't had the chance to see Yosemite in person - it's something you want to put on your bucket list. There is an indescribable magic in that valley - I have never seen brighter stars in my life than on the vista point of El Capitan. Go. You will love it.

This photo is absolutely stunning. I actually have never been to Yosemite National Park but my hope is to one day take a road trip and visit all the major national parks in the US. Will definitely keep this hike in mind when I make my way out there.

At least once in your life

Nature has enormous potential for such good photos as yours, just have to find the time and open the eye

This post has received gratitude of 8.61 % from @appreciator thanks to: @adonisabril.

Wow!!!!amazing this photography..i like this traveling.i wait your next post.....

hi i want to ask you an advice :) i want to make a project trough steemit i think you can help me to start up this project i want to talk with you on discord you can find me with the same username ! thanks

Check out utopian.io

Congratulations @adonisabril, this post is the ninth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Superuser account holder (accounts that hold between 1 and 10 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Superuser account holders during this period was 1600 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $13876.28. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Great work here my friend.

Awesome use of color and reflection. I don't often like oversaturated landscapes, but this one draws me in!

Damn... Those colors would make such a fun painting.
Very nice shot

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

That's beautiful

the vivid colors of the place is extremely enchanting. thanks for sharing a piece of Cali.

This is absolutely gorgeous! I'd love to visit those national parks some day. But for now I'll have to keep exploring much closer to home... :)

Fantastic photo. Love the colours

what an insanely beautiful post!!! loved it! thank you very much for such beauty!)

I liked your post especially the photo! <3 started following you. I'm trying to maintain connections with good quality content owners. and I'm also trying to create benefiacial content. I'll be happy If you can support me...:) looking forward to share travel stories witheachother

Wow! What a breathtaking place. It's definitely on my bucket list!

Wow! Amazing shot! I took a similar pic at a lake too. Check it out here:
https://steemit.com/photofeed/@ghazi4/the-fairy-meadows

Absolutely stunning! Yosemite is a beautiful place. I have only been there once and it was during the winter, which I really enjoyed. The Area wasn't full of people and the water fall was somewhat frozen over. Can't wait to get back out that way.

Nice article! Check out please my article about Transilvania! Thank YOU 🙂 https://steemit.com/cityscapephotography/@catalin2903/transilvania-s-gems

wow this pic is majestic! nice shot

Such beautiful colors!