Hawa Mahal

in #photofeed4 years ago

Hawa mahal.jpg

Jaipur,Rajasthan,India

Shutter Speed 1/125 sec
Aperture F/14
ISO 100
Camera Canon 80D
Lens Canon 55-250 kit lens

Hawa mahal grid.jpg

Grid View

This is the Hawa Mahal or The Palace of the Breeze in Rajasthan built by the Maharaja Sawai Pratap Singh. This unique 5 floored bee hive like structure designed by Lal Chand Ustad was built for Royal ladies so that they can see the events happening on the streets below through the tiny windows without showing their face to other men on the streets, since they had to obey the strict rules of "purdah", which forbade them from appearing in public without face coverings.

I saw this monument for the first time on Instagram, I was so drawn to the Architecture at the first glance that I badly wanted to visit. I craved to see this monument more than the Taj Mahal.
I still don't know why , but I just did.

When I actually reached there, I just went to a cafe right opposite to this place.
I sipped chai(tea) and let my eyes enjoy the visuals.

Wasn't dissappointing at all.

Hawa mahal.jpg

Color

Hawa mahal b&w.jpg

Black and White

illustrator.png

Cartoon Art by @turtledance24

Sort:  

The architects and materials used are really solid in those time. Built many decades ago and is still standing. Not like now where a bridge is made and after 5 years it gets collapsed 😀. Do the Visitors are allowed to enter inside hawa Mahal?

They are allowed, but I couldn't go though.
Dint have much time.

Government structures these days are a big scam!

Beautiful photo!

Thank you sid

Reminded me of my visit, which I had done last year.

Glad my photo could bring back some of your memories.
Thanks for stopping by

Beautiful click @backpackingmonk. I had visited last year. When we see such structure, I tend to fathom HOW!?. Even during those time when there was no machinery, still they could build such a structure. Potent Creativity is the words that come to my mind.

Completely resonate with your point.
I think they had lot of Man Power and dint think about spending loads of cash on making such structures.
Today, It doesn't become economically feasible spend crores n crores on Monuments and Statues.

Absolutely! Army of man power at the disposal of the Maharaja. Maharaja had the sole power and wasn't answerable to anyone.

Nowadays, its a different scenario, very few countries build iconic structures which can go on to become monuments for the future generation. The U.A.E is one country, who is numero uno currently in building upcoming monuments.

Congratulations @backpackingmonk! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 600 replies. Your next target is to reach 700 replies.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Indeed - not at all disappointing- great photo and story.