You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Avoiding Banality

in #photofeed6 years ago

Ok, I'm not a photographer (Well, I take pictures - mostly of beer :-)). Perhaps some of the question is who your audience is. I really enjoy having some context with the pictures. I love listening to heavy blues. It's great hearing an emotional ten minute piece. To me, ten minutes of instrumental music leaves a gap somewhere. Even one minute of vocal in there gives some understanding, a framework of sorts that gives it all extra depth.
My vote, continue the dialogue with your photographs. I feel they add considerably.
Interestingly enough, I think a novel telling the story of each doorbell would be a fantastic idea. Have fun. :-))

Sort:  

Hey man, you make such a wonderful comparison with music :) I quite often listen to post-rock precisely because it doesn't have lyrics - I can interpret the songs in my own and unique way. But then again - depending on my mood - sometimes I only want to listen to songs that have vocals. So, After reading quite a lot of comments and the thinking about it, I came to the profound conclusion that it all depends. :)

Thanks for the feedback! I will continue to do what I have been doing so far :)

By the way, the idea about the doorbells is indeed fantastic! Thanks a lot for it; if I have time one day, I might try to write a couple of stories.