You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Avoiding Banality

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

Oh well. Each to their own @irreverant-dan. 😁

Personally, I like to add the story behind the photograph if there's one to tell. Not so much the technical detail, because there isn't any as I use my phone, but what I was doing, why I was there etc.

Generally, I find that's what creates true engagement. However, I can see that it totally depends on what you photograph and if you see yourself as a photographer first and foremost, which I don't.

I find it hard to comment meaningfully on photographs that have no story behind them. You just end up saying the same sort of things over and over.

Having said that, I really like your photographs here. Great composition. I love photographs like this of ordinary objects that turn into art in their own right. 😊

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this, Gillian :)

I find it hard to comment meaningfully on photographs that have no story behind them. You just end up saying the same sort of things over and over.

Very good point. I often find myself staring at some splendid images and wondering what to say. And at the end, I don't say anything because a short "Great image!" sounds like spam. Haha. I still write that from time to time, though!

I am glad that you liked the photographs. And as some other people here mentioned, there are a lot of stories to be told about these doorbells :)

Great comment @irreverant-dan! 😂 😂 😂