Great Southern Land

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

The aurora australis or southern lights light up the night sky while looking down over the Great Lake of Tasmania's Central Plateau which resides at an elevation of 1,036 m (3,398 feet) and provides a clear view looking south to the pole. The phenomenon is sparked by electrically-charged electrons and protons accelerating down the Earth's magnetic field lines and colliding with neutral atoms in the upper atmosphere. Green aurora tend to occur at altitudes from 100 to 250 km by oxygen atoms emitting light at 557.7 nano-metres. Red aurora are less common and form around 200 to 500 km from oxygen atoms emitting light at 630 nm. Tasmania, Australia. The milky way and a shooting shooting star in there for good measure. Feel free to ask any questions about the shot.

GreatSouthernLand.jpg

If you want to see a post I did about the "true" colours in an Aurora and white balance settings on your camera you can see it here https://steempeak.com/photofeed/@intrepidphotos/crooked-river-aurora

If you would like to learn a little bit more about my background in photography you can read the interview @photofeed did with me here

Robert Downie
Love Life, Love Photography

All images in this post were taken by and remain the Copyright of Robert Downie - http://www.robertdowniephotography.com

Sort:  

Beautiful

Thanks

You're welcome

so cool! :o

I must go there some day

es una belleza boreal

Just went to the Griffith Observatory with my girl and her aunt and saw the movie about this in their planetarium. Really great stuff!

Thanks. Very cool to get to the observatory.

very nice so thought full of you to share thankyou

Too beautiful! Can I ask what camera are you using? thanks ahead. :)

I used a Canon 6D for this with a Samyang 24mm f1.4 lens.

Awesome! thanks bro :) I have a planning switching from nikon to canon someday. thanks!

Nikon cameras are probably out in front at the moment . The D750 would be the equivalent of the 6D 6DmkII series .

Yah! I heard it with my friend too. :) I'm saving up to buy Canon early next year but haven't decided what model. hehe thanks bro!

The Canons are good. I have used a lot of them.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=intrepidphotos
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=great-southern-land


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I was so mesmerized by this photo! It has this majestic and mythical aura which makes it more captivating to the viewers.

I agree with you! Would love to have the opportunity to witness it. I bet it would be totally awesome.

maasyaa Allah very beautiful

Hi @intrepidphotos!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.447 which ranks you at #2037 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 8 places in the last three days (old rank 2045).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 260 contributions, your post is ranked at #109.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @intrepidphotos!
Your post was mentioned in the Steemit Hit Parade in the following categories:

  • Upvotes - Ranked 10 with 1367 upvotes
  • Pending payout - Ranked 5 with $ 253,92

Aurora Borealis is amazing! Such a lovely colors! I have an opportunity to watch it while we're in Yellowknife and that's one of the best thing I've ever saw! Thank you for your photograph, it remind me of that moment , especially it's information.

Yellowknife is a great place to watch it ! I would like to get up there one day.

Yes, so true! I recommend you to go, It's a nice place to visit :)

So many places to visit !

It looks just amazing!

So beautiful, I would like to witness that in person.

It is lovely to see in person.

Jaw-dropped This is insanely beautiful @intrepidphotos

So cosmic view that I can’t believe it’s on Earth

Is is beautiful to watch.

It looks like aurora from the sky. Ugh! Can't get over it

I know right?It's so breathtakingly beautiful! It would be nice to witness this kind of phenomenon with your special someone.

Amazing! i have never seen image like this :o

Thanks. It is a beautiful spectacle to watch.

Such a scenic view ,looks great.

my words are less to describe this picture :)

Espectacular imagen, buen encuadre y buena composición...
Saludos

Gracias. Aprecie su apoyo.

howdy there intrepidphotos! I'm shocked because I've never heard of the Southern Lights and didn't know there was such a thing. All I've ever heard about are the Northern Lights seen in Canada so this is amazing.

The picture is stunning!

Thanks. Yes the southern lights are just as prevalent as the northern lights. Just less places to see them from outside of Antarctica.

they're amazing. thanks so much for the explanation!

Such a beautiful view. Thanks for posting!

Amazing..
auroras very nice things
thanks for sharing..

Just woow, what a unique opportunity that you had there, I'm happy for you :)

beautiful shot man!