There is peace even in the storm

in #photofeed6 years ago

“There is peace even in the storm” Vincent van Gogh

The Tonquin valley is like a throwback in time. It gives you an idea of what it must have felt like to see Banff or Jasper before there was any development other than a few horse trails. The trail here is infamous for its mud; and it did not disappoint. Over the course of the hike we had our fair share of particularly cold rain, and it often felt more like wading through a swamp than hiking. Despite this there were numerous moments of serene beauty where the mountains cleared and we had spectacular light. This shot was a 30 second exposure (f7.1, ISO 100) of the Ramparts from Amethyst Lake. Rising to a height of 3,313m (10,869ft) and straddling the continental divide they fall partly within Jasper National Park in Alberta and Mount Robson Provincial Park in British Columbia. Amethyst lake sits at height of 1,975m (6,479ft) so the wall rises dramatically over 1,300m (4,265ft) in front of you. On the third day with the temperatures continuing to drop the rain started turning to snow on the pass; so we hiked out in a single day and skipped our planned forth day. We were extremely lucky to be able to see some endangered mountain Caribou bulls; but I will save that for another post. Jasper National Park. Alberta, Canada

Hope everyone has found some inner peace with the roller coaster that was the update to HF20 !

StormyRamparts.jpg

If you would like to learn a little bit more about my background in photography you can read the interview @photofeed did with me here

Robert Downie
Love Life, Love Photography

All images in this post were taken by and remain the Copyright of Robert Downie - http://www.robertdowniephotography.com

Sort:  

I want to go to Canada

But you only have 7 countries left if your limiting yourself to 50 ;-)

Already got Canada on the list so it would be a double up. And 50 is the hurdle not the ceiling

You should come over this winter and I can show you what cold really means .

It's a trap!

Just ask for a reference from my last visitor 3C349699-15C6-4BD7-BFDE-B9EE7B801C93.jpeg

Stunning shot @intrepidphotos
Please don't wonder but I will upvote in a few days. At the moment I am not able to provide you with valuable upvotes

Thanks!

Wow, looks so great in fullscreen! Love the cold tones and long exposure magic. Well done!

Those colours make everything look so dramatic! And I'm weird and really like rocks and thinks those are such cool shapes and colours. And I was wondering if you were going to shove in a hardfork reference in there, seems that's all anyone is going to talk about today XD

Thanks for the kind comment as always !

Wow, this is stunning. Glad @photovisions recommended full screen.

Living in the USA, Canada never interested me much - too close to home - so I never paid much attention to its landscape. Now I see so many gorgeous pictures in my feed that this continent has become much more interesting.

Gorgeous picture. That mud sounds horrible in the moment, but must be interesting to look back at now that it is nestled down in the past.

Canada is such an amazing country. That said having come from Australia I would agree that you always want what you don't have. I really miss the incredible Australian coastline and beaches after two years here in Canada.

I could sit and gaze at this beauty for ages @intrepidphotos so I can only imagine how remarkable it would be to actually be there. Spectacular photography.

Wow...so beautiful... I need to come out West.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Let me know if you do make it over

My wife wants to move out to Vancouver but both our families are all here in Ontario and Quebec... we would spend a fortune flying back home for all the holidays and birthday party’s, and weddings and other events.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Try flying home to Australia lol

I had a job offer in Vancouver but there was no way we could afford to buy anything ... maybe live in Maple Ridge and commute for 4 hours each day.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes. Vancouver is expensive. Most Australian cities are similar prices to the west coast of Canada unfortunately.

Stunning photograph !

Posted using Partiko Android

Reaching Ralph Levels

Not sure what you mean by Ralph Levels?