You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Avoiding Banality

in #photofeed6 years ago

I was just about to tell you that I am sick and tired of the "easy" job photographers have of putting old work on line to score a few cents.

In my early days here, I used to publish both old and new photography, but as I quickly run out of photos, I had to start going out and taking pictures in order to do a blog post. All of my recent posts have photos that are new and exclusive to Steem; that's how I create value for the platform.

many young people are losing their sensitivity for narrative; things have to become very instant for them;

Would you agree that instant gratification is a much broader problem? I have the feeling that it affects (negatively) all types of art and aspects of our lives.

Thank you so much for this comment @sukhasanasister! What you said means a lot to me 🙇

Sort:  

Totally agree.
It's always fear feeding this greedy false sense of need.
By teaching people to see we create a new calm and reassure them there is abundance you can explore with curiosity (and not rake towards you like a doomsday prepper).
You come to a place like Steemit, if you understand yourself "sent" with a mission - as one might have in the olden days - to share your talent, to educate (ex-ducere= bring out).
Those who write up their emotions educate themselves with self-reflection. But your teaching would be of a more sophisticated level. You present and invite and have to wait and see (patiently) how this makes the difference.
Fortunately, you are too old (of soul) to want instant gratification.