Desert Dweller

in #photofeed6 years ago

The Desert Spiny Lizard is indigenous to the desert southwest and is found to live from sea level to a 5000' foot elevation which includes the lovely Sedona Arizona USA.

These are medium to large lizards with snout-vent lengths ranging from 2¼ to 5¼ inches (63 to 138 mm). These robust lizards have keeled, pointed scales. Background color is usually subdued gray, tan, or blue with a striking wide, purple stripe down the back and single yellow scales scattered on the sides (S. magister), or scattered turquoise scales mixed with tan and brown on the back and sides (S. clarkii). Both species have a dark collar under or around the neck; males have vivid blue throats and under-bellies. Females develop orange to red heads during the breeding season.

lizard 7x10.jpg

Like many other lizards, spiny lizards exhibit metachromatism, which is color change as a function of temperature. When it is cooler, colors are much darker than when the temperature is high. Darker colors increase the amount of heat absorbed from the sun and lighter colors reflect solar radiation.

lizard 2 flat.jpg

This curious look is probably a serious look!

Sort:  

Nice shots, I really like the first one! The colors are beautiful. What a neat little creature!
Also I chuckled at the last part there the "curious look is probably a serious look". I wonder what it's like to be in the consciousness of that being! It probably is very serious.

Hey thanks Paul' I agree they came out good. I think it's a serious look when something big in front of you might eat you.

That's a beautiful desert lizards. I learn a lot about it from your article. I appreciate your adventure and brilliant writing about lizards.

It 's nice you can enjoy it and learn something new. Thanks!

It has very long fingers and a curious bluish color, Great!!

Very long fingers indeed, like wow! Glad you like!

It has very long
Fingers and a curious
Bluish color, Great!!

                 - cinefilo


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Beautiful lizards and I've never seen before. Thanks for sharing, sir.

Beautiful lizards
And I've never seen before.
Thanks for sharing, sir.

                 - black-horse


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

It's great that I can show you something new. Thank you!

Beautiful that lizard of vibrant colors, around my house I always see some that walk on the walls but they are gray, but I also see the ones that go on the floor that are more colorful.

That's interesting to hear, we have similar lizards here as well. I really like the little grey ones that are so common around the home and elsewhere. They are so cute and not very afraid.

Good evening @irvinesimages, your photos have very good quality, this animal looks perfectly, its colors, its legs, all its details.
Have a good night:)

It's wonderful that nature gives us such beautiful little creatures to enjoy and they help out by eating bugs! Thank you and have a great day!

Excellent post good article very nice natural photography I like your post thanks for sharing with us dear @irvinesimages

Your welcome. I'm happy to share, thanks!

wow! What such a beautiful natural photography good traveling I like your post thanks for sharing with us dear @irvinesimages

I like the wow, thanks for that!

Thank you for your contribution to the "pc-macro" tag

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Check out this post for information on all the Photocircle tags

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

To stop receiving comments then reply !STOP!