One Strike

in #photofeed6 years ago

Right now the monsoon season is in full swing here which means a lot of wet weather. This image shows a cloud to ground lightning strike hitting atop a red rock cliff at sunset in Sedona Arizona USA. A couple of days ago the National Weather Service reported more that 8,000 cloud to ground lightning strikes occurred in Northern Arizona in 24 hours time.

mermaid lightning 7x11.jpg

Sort:  

Amazing photography 💜 you are a genious.

Wow I haven't been called that for a while, what a nice thing to say. Thank you.

You got a 2.09% upvote from @oceanwhale With 35+ Bonus Upvotes courtesy of @naim444! Delegate us Steem Power & get 100%daily rewards Payout! 20 SP, 50, 75, 100, 150, 200, 300, 500,1000 or Fill in any amount of SP Earn 1.25 SBD Per 1000 SP | Discord server

What a wonderful photo there

I concur, thank you!

Pretty shot! Some good sunset colors in there with the lightning.

Yes it was decent, you got some good ones that time.

Do you time that perfectly? Or are you in video mode for that? Stunning though. The sound of that cracking through the sky must have been unreal!

This was shot on film using a lightning trigger which automatically opens the shutter when lightning flashes, It's difficult to use but works.

Ahh dang thats cool! I'm fairly new so I have to research the terms but that's really cool. Sure does it beautiful!

Looks like the lightning strike hitting on the red rocks. How can you captured this type of adventure shot. I appreciate your great creativity.

Hi, I used a device called a lightning trigger which automatically opens the camera's shutter when the lightning flashes, however it's very tricky to use. Big thanks.

Красивая сказочная молния! А Вы попробуйте спрятаться от этой молнии! Это будут очень приятные ощущения!

I can't read this?

Wow! Very fantastic👍👍👍

Wow! The explosion of light from the sky was horrible and amazing.

This photo is beautiful for buzz. Thanks @irvinesimages

Just marvelous! Thank you.

amazing capture...just like a perfect shoot

I like your comment, Thank you!

Look like so beautiful for lightning strike. But it strike is very dangerous. Thanks for sharing us.

Your so right, use with caution. Always a thrill! Thanks and your welcome.

Very nice shoot, I liked!

Hey' thanks a lot!

Wow!.. there is Zeus!... or Thor?..

I think they take turns. Gets to be a party' what fun. Thanks my friend.

cant help but love the nature of lightning

I'm with you all the way on that one, I think it's so fascinating! Thanks!

So was it captured via burst or how was it done? Looks amazing.

We had an IFC challenge where we had to photograph lightning and for someone who've never done it, it was quite an experience.

I only had a mobile phone so I had to take a video in order to even have a screenshot of a lightning. 😂

I used an electronic device called a lightning trigger which automatically opens the cameras shutter when the lightning flashes. But even that was complicated and difficult to use but it worked! Shooting video is the easy way. Thanks!

Whoa that's high tech! Didn't know there's such a device. Cool. 👍

Yeah vids are the easy way but the picture will be just low quality screenshots. 😁 At least now I know we need to have something like u use.

Posted using Partiko Android

Your right about that. I shoot for high image quality because I sell enlarged prints. A lot of my work is shot with medium format equipment of the highest quality for that reason.

Perfect capture to that lightning, good job.⚡👍

Yes I like the effect of the sunset colors. Thank you.

That's a crazy amount of lightning! Really cool picture. You were lucky to get that lightning strike.

Thank you. There's always luck involved good and bad. I guess good if you get the shot and bad if you don't. LOL.

Very nice clicked and awesome natural photography. Thank you for sharing with us.

Thanks for the nice compliment. I'm happy to share.

Wow Technology has reached this level. You can count the number of clouds.Great post. thank you

I honestly thought the monsoon was only in Asia! You learn something new every day I guess :-) Awesome shot!

There are numerous monsoon seasons around the globe and they mostly involve tropical and subtropical moisture and land mass. Its the North American Monsoon that affects the desert southwest of the US. Thanks!

I had no idea! Thank you for that :-)

Your welcome, thanks for asking!