Shenandoah National Park

in #photofeed6 years ago

I was recently on a trip out east with the main goal of hiking and camping in/around the Great Smoky Mountains. We were intending to end the camping portion of our trip in Pisgah National Forest before heading to Norfolk, VA to drop off the majority of our group. Our plan was to then go up the coast to D.C. and end our trip in NYC before making the long drive back to Minneapolis. On our final night in Norfolk I told my wife that it might be cool to go back the direction we came and find another cool place to explore which lead me to Google Maps to see what we might be available. To my surprise, I found a long green sliver of land on the map that is Shenandoah National Park. I had never heard of this park but was instantly super excited to see what it was all about. We packed up the car the next day and made the 4 hour drive out to the park with absolutely no expectations. I can now say that it more than blew my mind and I truly can't wait to return.

shen (12 of 13).jpg

shen (10 of 13).jpg