You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Constructive use of solitude

in #photofeed6 years ago

OK i like the quote however I have a question... What does it look like to "OVERCOME" ?

_“In order to be open to creativity, one must have the capacity for constructive use of solitude. One must overcome the fear of being alone.” _

I am alone alot... but I just have never liked it... and I gather I'm creative, In fact when I'm with others I can be even more creative. Do you think this guy was just an introvert and he just didn't understand how the minds of extroverts work?

Or maybe he was just justifying his own way of life in a self fulfilling prophecy sort of way.

In any case I am headed to Yellowstone in part just to get better at being ok with traveling alone again. I did it for so many years and I kind of wanted to stop because life is better shared... but I'm gonna give it a shot again.

Sort:  

Yes. Very true. I would definitely say he is an introvert (like myself). Extroverts in a lot of ways drive their creativity from the energy of other people. On the other hand interactions with society can be distracting and even stressful for introverts ; and a lot of creative introverts lived have historically solitary lives from time to time (eg locking themselves in a remote cabin until they finish their thesis/books/paintings/etc).

I still think time alone in the wilderness is useful for extroverts as well, even if the time required is shorter as it provides a clarity of mind that is hard to obtain with so much noise around you .