Photo Essay | North Idaho as seen from a Cessna 172

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

Boundary County, Idaho

It might be one of the best places on earth.

1.jpg

2.jpg

Pilot

Zach recently earned his flight credentials and does in excellent job. He loves flying and routinely gets to see North Idaho from the air. I liked seeing how he uses the GPS on his tablet to help navigate and follow flight plans.

Brush Lake

On March 31st, most of Brush Lake was still covered with a layer of ice. As we passed the lake, banking to head south, we ran through just a few small bumps. Other than that, the flight was completely smooth.

5.jpg

Passengers

My lovely wife had the backseat to herself as she listened to Zach and I talk through the radios. She enjoyed exploring some old stomping grounds from the air, and Instagramming the scenery below.

7.jpg

9.jpg

Wildlife

We tried to find some elk in this stand of trees. All we found, were deer scattered on the edge of the fields and in a few of the logged areas.

12.jpg

The Kootenai River

The Kootenai River, historically known as the Flatbow, is a major river in Southeastern British Columbia and northern Idaho and Montana. It is a major tributary of the Columbia River which flows southwest until it empties into the Pacific Ocean. Historically, the Kootenai (Ktunaxa) tribe lived along it’s banks and used it for hunting and fishing as they lived there for hundreds of years, isolated from neighboring native groups. More recently, dams were built on the Kootenai in the 20th century to generate power and control flood and drought risks. Pictured here, just north of Bonners Ferry, the current slows considerably as it turns and heads north up the Kootenai Valley toward British Columbia.

13.jpg

16.jpg

17.jpg

18.jpg

19.jpg

21.jpg

22.jpg


These photos were originally posted on Exposure

Intro Post | Last Post (Picking Huckleberries + Thoughts on Family Traditions) | Instagram
Thanks for all the comments and upvotes! I really do appreciate it. The first few months here, I am investing all rewards I earn back into Steem Power. As this account grows, I'm dedicated to rewarding quality content, and helping others discover content that will keep them coming back to this platform. I would love your continued support as I grow.
Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.25 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.05
Server time: 03:42:34
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 41.10/100.00
Total Photos: 8
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Such a splendid scenery! I wish I had a pilot friend. I'd beg ask them to take me out for a ride up in the air every chance I'd get. I feel like you can appreciate a landscape a little better from above, and as a consequence, take more unique pictures. You did a great job with yours! Loving the editing as well. Very vintage looking.

Thank you! I enjoy getting up in the air every chance I get. I edited the with the Agfa Vista 800 warm+ preset from VSCO.

I noticed that all the photos had a certain look to them. :) Ties them together very nicely.

Great shots! Resteemed!

Thanks guys! 🙌

Sweet! Lovely little spot on this big ol' earth. :)

And isn't it cool to think of how many little spots there are like this! So glad the earth is as large as it is.