Night on the Mountain, Washington State (album)

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

Night on the Mountain


On a clear day in December, my friend (@natebillings) and I decided to go sleep on a mountain. We were coming off of two months of miserably wet weather and needed to get out. The overcast skies and rain here in the late fall/winter can be a little discouraging so you have to make the most of the sunny days.

I left my house in Seattle, hopped on the ferry, met up with Nate and off we went. We arrived at the trailhead around midday. After gathering our overnight supplies and cameras, we hit the trail.

SteemitTownsend1.jpg

The trail goes on for 4 miles and 3000 feet of elevation gain before you reach the top. Not too bad, but certainly not the easiest. Luckily we were still pretty conditioned from summer (we backpacked a ton). We got to the summit a couple of hours after leaving the truck, dropped our gear and started exploring.

SteemitTownsend2.jpg

The summit of Mount Townsend is maybe a mile long, so meandering around can be pretty interesting. Lots to look at up there!

228.jpg

Once sunset was imminent, Nate and I grabbed our cameras and went our own ways, each trying to find an interesting angle. The top of the mountain was pretty snow free, but, the trail itself was quite the opposite..

SteemitTownsend4.jpg

The sunset was awesome. Pastel hues and a view of every Washington volcano (Baker, Glacier, Rainier, Adams, St. Helens). You could see the Puget Sound, Canada, the Cascades.. so cool.

227.jpg

The colors faded and I quickly ran back to camp. We had been hiking all day on minimal food, so dinner was on the mind. We started setting up camp. Nate's yellow tent was a really nice contrast to the blue sky so I had to take a few photos.. sorry Nate :)

SteemitTownsend6.jpg

I mean just look at that tent. That's a nice tent.

SteemitTownsend7.jpg

After camp was all set up, we started cooking dinner. I believe we both had the same thing. Annie's Mac and Cheese with some flavored tuna packets mixed in. I'm pretty sure I crushed up some chips and threw those in too. Maybe that sounds weird.. but it tasted like a 5 star meal to me. Everything tastes better when you're camping.

240.jpg

The temperature was dropping quickly, so we finished up our meals and crawled in the sleeping bags. Definitely a chilly night.. but it was worth it to be up there. Getting to see these landscapes at sunrise and sunset is amazing.

236.jpg

We woke up a little before the sun came up.. but that's another blog. I'm going to be posting part 2 (Morning on the Mountain) tomorrow.

The trail is called Mount Townsend. Super popular in the summer. In the winter, however, it's a different story. We were alone up there.. made for a peaceful evening.

-Nathaniel

Sort:  

Superb! I love the colors and layers in the sunset photo, and the trail one is just so inviting!

Thanks! It was a pretty awesome vantage point up there, so many layers to look at :)

I meant to ask you also if you'd like to judge Simple Sunday Nature Photo Contest next Sunday (March 25 - minimalist photos of nature). I think I've some of those shots on your page so I thought you might like that if you're interested. These two links are a good intro to the contest if you're not familiar: Water Wednesday submissions post and Trees Tuesday winners post. Feel free to reply on here or email me at [email protected] with any questions! Thanks! :)

I'll look it over! Wouldn't mind helping out

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.45 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.09
Server time: 02:08:10
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 145.76/200.00
Total Photos: 21
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Good stuff, keep the photo-adventure stories coming! I like the format, although it must be a lot of work. :)

Thanks Derek! It was definitely more work than my other blogs.. but I like a good project :)

It's also nice that you take these behind-the-scenes photos in the first place. I usually don't - too focused on just getting the picture, and then to sleep, haha.

Heh, I feel that too. Definitely been trying to focus more on storytelling this past year though. It's been fun, and has made me a better photographer overall

Really nice hike!

Oh yeah, your photos are fantastic! So much fun seeing these spectacular views from the heights.

Congratulations, your post was discovered and featured by @OCD in its daily compilation 215!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.


If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. You can read about it here.


@ocd now has a witness. You can vote for @ocd-witness with SteemConnect or on Steemit Witnesses to help support other undervalued authors!