Rugged landscapes on the Oregon Coast (album)

in #photofeed6 years ago

Now here's a place.

A beautiful place. I place I found on google earth. A place where we watched the sun go down with nobody around us but the birds and the wind.

352.jpg

We were sitting in a coffee shop earlier in the day, editing photos and sipping on caffeinated drinks. It was our harsh-light-siesta of sorts. A break that some photographers take in the middle of the day when the light is bad... when it isn't golden hour, sunrise or sunset. I was doing location research trying to figure out an exciting place for sunset because we didn't plan ahead. I found one- so off we went.

12.jpg

It wasn't too long of a hike. Maybe half an hour? Can't really remember.. it may have been closer to forty-five minutes. We hiked through the dunes for a while and caught glimpses of the sea stacks in the distance. Our destination.

13.jpg

We started to walk a bit faster at that point. The light was getting good and the landscape was getting better. Once we arrived I ran up on a bluff for a better viewpoint. I'm a fan of downward perspectives, after all..

302.jpg

My burning legs and my desire to be born again as a bird quickly subsided as the light flooded the beaches and rocks around us. It was the kind of hectic-but-peaceful moment that makes you forget about everything else. If you're thinking "why hectic" it's because my photographer brain was freaking out because I didn't have any compositions in mind and the light was amazing and the landscape wa.. you get the point. Here's my friend and fellow steemian @natebillings taking it all in.

305.jpg

The sun sank lower in the sky. There wasn't too much time left before it was below the horizon. I ran around for a while, taking photos and enjoying the whipping winds and the sounds of the ocean.

304.jpg

Once the sun did finally set, the sky turned a beautiful pastel shade of blue, pink and purple. Everything slowed down a little. The rock formations in this area are really incredible. I haven't seen anything like it in my travels so far. They were huge, though I'm not sure if you can tell from the photo.

308.jpg

We started heading back to the truck by headlamp once most of the light was gone. Here's a blurry shot of Nate beginning the return trek.

14.jpg

Overall, I couldn't have really asked for a better place to spend a sunset down south. It was beautiful, new and exciting. And the best part is... nobody knows about it.

-Nathaniel

Sort:  

Lovely shots. Resteemed!

Thank you! Twas a lovely place

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography

You have earned 5.15 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.03
Server time: 06:07:10
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 245.33/400.00
Total Photos: 31
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 0.80 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Amazing post with such great pictures :)

Thanks man! Glad you like them

I really really really need to make my way to Oregon

Let me know if you do!

I smiled because of recognition

“If you're thinking "why hectic" it's because my photographer brain was freaking out because I didn't have any compositions in mind and the light was amazing and the landscape wa.. you get the point.”

:’)

What a gorgeous place and perfect light! The blue and yellow contrasts are truly magical.

You get it! Thankfully it worked out, heh.

It was a beautiful place :)

Looks so beautiful. I can smell the ocean in my mind.

It absolutely was. Been thinking about that place since I left

Love this coast, and you're style of processing works so well with these photos! I've rarely had good luck finding sunsets on the coast. I think I bring cloudy weather with me. :)

Apparently I lucked out with the weather windows I got. And thanks man!

This truly is beautiful place, thanks for sharing your experiences with those beautiful pics. Definitely a must visit place for landscape photography enthusiasts.