Waterfall Wednesday, short hike in Washington State (album)

in #photofeed6 years ago

Spirit Falls, WA

I crossed another waterfall off the list last week. Well, two, actually. That's another post though. The subject of today's Waterfall Wednesday is Spirit Falls, and man... it's a gem. It's a short and steep hike in the Gifford Pinchot National Forest. It crosses through private land, so hike at your own risk. I needed to see this place, so I was a bit determined.

399.jpg

The water was blue. Reaaaally blue. Some of the bluest water I've ever seen. The second closest in color to this one is Koosah Falls, down in Oregon. I explored this place for a little while and was mildly startled when some kayakers appeared, lugging their vessels on their shoulders. I thought I was alone in this place. They snuck up in the water and landed just before the falls. They were bypassing it.. this time. I have seen photos of kayakers floating over the edge of these waterfalls before, but not today.

6.jpg

They lumbered down the trail, making it to a safe point to sail away again. I tried to grab some photos of them downstream.

7.jpg

After hiking and slipping around this place for a while (seriously, it was slippery), I headed back up the very steep trail to the car. This image was the last one I took and one of my favorites.

8.jpg

Back at the car, I began the long drive back to Seattle. This waterfall visit was the last stop on a 5 day trek through Oregon, from the coast to the desert. Definitely a nice note to end on.

-Nathaniel

Sort:  

Great little story and awesome shots, thanks for the adventure sharing.

Namaste :)

thanks man! Glad you enjoyed it :)

That water is so pretty! Awesome shots. Resteemed.

It was unreal! So blue. Thank you!

Blown away, seriously.

Thanks man! I was blown away by this place

That is very beautiful blue water

It certainly was!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.20 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.04
Server time: 02:23:01
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 235.08/400.00
Total Photos: 29
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 0.80 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Unbelievable this waterfall. I have never seen such blue water. great pictures and articles. Many Thanks
mikeCee

it really was! Thanks man.

Gorgeous shots man!

These are incredible shots! killer work!

thanks alexa!

Epic shots as always and lovely write up.

I always enjoy the colour you bring out in the water.

Thanks dude. This was a crazy one

Holy shit. These are outstanding. I for one am very grateful you braved the slippery slopes.

Thank you! Me too. It was worth it :)

Oh man these are dope

Beautiful. The blue color is amazing! :)

Great waterfall!!