Hello - India

in #photofeed5 months ago

Hello. It's been a while! I've just returned from 2 months photographing in India. A long trip. It was hellishly hot, and the first three weeks were literally too hot to do anything. And I got Covid as well.

Photographically speaking, compared to my previous shorter trip to India, it was a bit of a let down. I just didn't find a lot of characters to photograph. However, I did get some I'm happy with in terms of documenting the range of people I saw there. I've included a selection in this post. One that I'm particularly happy with is the first image below - some sort of ritual going on in the holy waters of Ujjain. Unfortunately, no one in the small crowd that had gathered spoke English, so I was unable to find out what exactly was going on. But it was intense. The lady was groaning and whipping her head around in a frenzy. And then she pulled out a knife! Obviously not super sharp, but sharp enough to draw blood on her tongue. If you have a look at the next image, you can see he necklace consisted of tiny skulls. A dark ritual to be sure.

edit: hmm, not displaying with sharpness. Click on the images to view in the carousel where they are sharp.

DSCF6292-3.jpg

DSCF6292.jpg

DSCF2735-Enhanced-NR.jpg

DSCF2789.jpg

DSCF6305.jpg

DSCF2920.jpg

DSCF6394.jpg

DSCF6397-Enhanced-NR.jpg

DSCF6449.jpg

DSCF6565.jpg

DSCF6566.jpg

DSCF6598.jpg

DSCF6606.jpg

DSCF6620.jpg

DSCF6651.jpg

DSCF6623.jpg

DSCF6674-Enhanced-NR.jpg

Sort:  

Hello welcome back! And really sharp photos!

Glad to see that you're traveling again. I might travel/move to different cities next year.

Do you ask permission for these portraits, or just take snapshots of people in public when the opportunity presents itself? I don't even know what photography etiquette or Indian cultural attitudes are on the topic.

For the close up portraits I do ask. Indians always seem happy to have their photo taken. I rarely get a no. They also love taking selfies with westerners. There's a bunch of Indians with pictures of me on their phones. 😄

Wow I am a huge fan of photography and these portrait photos are superb.
You could share more of your photography on Inleo as threads and I am certain you would have lots of activity on it.

You haven’t dropped a thread in December and I hope you’re fine. Why don’t you try dropping a thread today I would be super excited to have there. Let me know what you think.

https://inleo.io/ here’s the link