Crossing the Atlantic - 13 days without covid [Blog]

in #photofeed2 years ago (edited)

Crossing the Atlantic has been number one on my bucket list for at least 5 years now. I had a handful opportunities to do so but at the end a important part always was missing. Which was a payment to do so. In the sailing / yachting world there are a lot of "jobs" to get and a lot of them are unpaid and I was just not willing to work and not getting payed.

Since my main occupation is sailing, I assume I build the knowledge and skill to be payed for what I do. Never the less, this year I was able to sail on a luxurious sailing vessel across the Atlantic and getting payed - A Dream fulfilled!

Right now I am sitting in the bridge, doing a anchor watch and writing this blog entry. It took us 13 days, with a average speed of around 8 knots to cross the Atlantic. In the whole time we did not use our engine - which I find a mayor achievement. The wind was all the time in our favor I guess. Steady winds blew us west, with hot sunny days and the occasional squalls in between.

Since the first time I sailed on the Atlantic, I kept the fascination for these waves that only can be seen on big oceans. You can see them coming from a far, rolling towards you, with sometimes tremendous heights and just gliding over them - more or less elegantly :-D. It is always a problem to take photos of waves but in this one I hope you can feel the hight.


The deck is wet after a heavy rain shower. Great opportunity to get some photos in :)

And again a wave photo. This time in black and white. I still like to play with photography and creativity and waves do give a lot of opportunity to make things different again.

Since my watch was form 4 to 8 a.m. as well as p.m, I saw each sunrise and each sunset of the whole voyage. Therefore I do have a lot of photos taken in that time. Overall I took over 1400 photos of crew, boat and nature in that 13 days. Here is one of the scenery.

Good morning sunshine. The sun is in the back of the boat. This means it is sunrise time. Lush 21 degrees with a lovely breeze. How can a morning start more relaxed than this?

p.s. Not having to deal with covid for 2 weeks was just great. Sure it was a topic here and there but nothing really to worry about. Wonderful!

Photo statistics

CameraSony a6000
LenseSony selp 18-105
Focal lengthusually between 18 and 75
ApertureF4
ISO100
Exposure timevariable
Panorama?yes - 3 (all of the photos are panorama shots)
LocationAtlantic
Download this photos?Yes: for private use - No: for commercial use!
Who am I, What do I dohttp://bit.ly/2tDEhpP
My YoutubericPicks @ Youtube

Please visit my webpage ricpicks.de for more photos and content.

p.s. I do appreciate all critique - please give me your input!