Why Photography Matters

in #photofeed6 years ago

Why it matters


It’s been a while since I’ve been able to sit down and write out a full article for Steemit. V and I spent so much time writing, planning and practising our most recent presentation that I felt I couldn’t really sit down and write a big article for Steem without missing out on valuable prep time. In a strange turn of events I now have an excess of time this week so I’d be remiss not to sit down and share a few of the articles that have been rolling around in my head for the last few months!

This one is one that I feel applies to all of us, professional or amateur, photography enthusiast or just a Steemian with a smartphone. It’s about *why* our images matter.

IMG_3400.jpg

The Illusion of Progress

When I started out in photography I felt like I wanted to make photographs that would be noticed, remembered and recognised. Looking back I’m not really sure WHAT I wanted, just like the decade I spent pursuing my goals of becoming an Olympian, I just had an urge to prove myself, or to be the best. I’ve approached every passion in my life with a inherent sense of competitivity.

Most of the time I’ve made a lot of progress towards my dreams of success, in sports that was milestones like becoming County Champion, making national finals. In Photography that was winning awards, chasing more awards, seeing our photographs and bio’s featured in magazines and on websites. In all of these endeavours I don’t really remember any moment where I gave myself a pat on the back for the hard work that was paying off, just an inner hole that needed filling with external approval.

Maybe it’s just that my drive to be the best is more developed than my natural abilities at my endeavours; maybe I’m just not *that* good! It’s hard to say, but personally I can’t help but feel that even if I had become an Olympian, and won every race out there, I wouldn’t have felt particularly fulfilled or finished. I’m not sure it would have made me any happier, and I don’t suppose I’m alone there for one moment!

IMG_3350.jpg

Making Waves

I know, I know, we’re all here on Steemit, so in many way’s we’re all seeking some form of external approval. There’s absolutely nothing wrong with that! It’s nice to get a little pat on the back, especially when you can’t rely on yourself for that kind of encouragement! I think that’s why Social Media has become quite so prevalent in the last decade – we all love a bit of approval. It’s nice to know other people appreciate something we’ve done or made.

Steemit is particularly motivating in that our efforts are almost ‘graded’ at each attempt. Of course, just like Instagram and Myspace before it our ‘efforts’ amount to more than just the pictures or posts we create. Our interaction with the community, willingness to engage with followers and consistency all play a big part.

Sometimes it’s easy to forget that with a platform like Steemit or Instagram they aren’t designed to be ‘fair’ by everyone’s standards. It’s unlikely that the ‘best’ photos are the ones that get the most likes or earn the most Steem. It’s certainly not how most pure photographers would have it, but then I’m not really sure it would be particularly fair anyway. The problem is, what we do will always be subjective, one persons dream wall art would be another’s trash and, ultimately, should platforms reward consistency and commitment? (By that I mean, can’t we always expect to get out what we put in?)

IMG_0132.jpg

Back to Photography

I’d argue that I never really diverged from the topic of photography, but since I’d be arguing with myself I’ll explain. If we’re looking at *WHY* our Photography matters then we need to look at what doesn’t matter right?

Just like the subjectivity that comes with the ‘judging’ of images, there’s a whole lot of subjectivity when it comes to what matters. Personally, I’ve decided that the competitive side of me doesn’t really serve any purpose and photography is what taught me that. That being said I have friends and peers who absolutely adore competitions and awards and DO get that genuine sense of satisfaction from them. I’m just saying it doesn’t float MY boat.

What does? Well Photography its-self does of course. The actual taking of photographs, as well as the technology behind them. The money is also a driving force, one that I’ve come to embrace, as it’s one thing that – most of us at least – NEED from something we spend an excessive amount of time on. It motivates me to continue to push myself because I know people are paying me to take good photographs!

But that’s still not what really matters

.emotiveportrait.jpg

What really matters

This is about photography, so I’ll let the story behind a couple of photos do the talking for me.

This is why it matters:

Bex  Dom - Sansom Photography-853.jpg

This one is always a really special one to us, the bride and groom are actually really good friends of ours now, we stayed in touch after the wedding and they quickly became two of our best friends. I don’t know exactly when, but one evening after we had delivered the photos we were over at their house and Bex told us why photo meant so much to her.

She hadn’t mentioned it before the wedding because she wanted us to just capture the day how we would normally, but her mum had actually been diagnosed as terminal just a year before the wedding. They had gone from having a somewhat distant relationship to Bex going to part time at work to spend more time with her mum. This photo wasn’t just about a mum and daughter dancing, it was about how incredible their relationship had become. 3 years later and her mum is doing amazingly, she’s defied all of the odds and this photo is one that will always mean the world to them both because of the story behind it.

And *THIS* is why is matters:

Lucy  Ian - Sansom Photography-44.jpg

This isn’t really a shot we’d ever expect to display, we’ve all got heart warming stories from weddings and those are great to share. But for us it’s the heart BREAKING stories that are always the ones we don’t want to share, it’s almost like they aren’t ours to tell. Sometimes we’ve thought about mentioning them in blog posts to contextualise things a bit better, but we always hate the idea of using other peoples heartache to promote our work.

That said, this is a story that has a place in the context of this article, and since I’m not promoting our work off the back of it, it feels acceptable! More to the point it feels NECESSARY!

This is one of our brides from last year, and the man in the photo is her dad. A few weeks out from her engagement shoot which would take place on the family farm, she emailed with a special request. Her dad had been diagnosed as terminal having spent some time in hospital, they said he wouldn’t make it to the wedding just 4 months away. She asked if we could take some photos of her dad while we were there as it would be the last chance they had to do it.

First of all we were just scared as hell. I mean, it’s ok to talk about the idea that people will look back at our images in years to come and remember lost family and friends, but this was another level. This was confronting the reality of what we’re responsible for in the most nerve wracking way possible.

On the day we had loads of things planned out, way to make the shoot work. Then as soon as we met the family our plans went to pieces. They were lovely, welcoming, down to earth, and bloody hated photos. The brides dad just didn’t want to be in the room with our cameras out. We headed out for some couple shots with the bride and groom to be and talked about our options.

Lucy, the bride, told us that her dad had always been like that when it came to photographs and it really wasn’t our fault at all. We suggested one, last ditch attempt would be to holster our cameras when we headed back in, and for Lucy to give her dad a hug out of the blue which we would attempt to capture before he had a chance to stop us.

As it turned out he did allow us – albeit briefly – to get the shot. When we planned out this all important image it’s safe to say it looked nothing like this. We were going to make it artistic, a classic portrait that would be adored by the family for years to come. But that wouldn’t have been her dad.

He passed away two weeks after this photo was taken, and on her wedding day the bride told us we would always be the best photographers in the world to her family because we got the last ever photo of her dad. They didn’t care that it wasn’t the best photo, that it was shot in low light – and tungsten at that! In many ways the photos imperfections said more about the man than a perfect one ever could have.

It’s a staged photograph, it’s not artistic in any way shape or form and it’s not going to win us any awards, recognition or Facebook referrals. But it’s stuff like this that is what’s really important. Doing right by our clients and putting their memories ahead of our own aspirations and ego’s.

IMG_3440.jpg

Our Memories Are What’s Important

Hopefully most of us have plenty of time left with family members, and plenty of time left ourselves. But every time we get sent a heart-breaking story from a past or present client we remember just how fragile all of this is. Our minds and memories are fantastic things, but – for most of us – they can’t do what our cameras can. Isn’t that why this incredible art form was created in the first place?

I think in this digital age it’s easy to forget, we just take photos that get added to an endless pile. We take more photos than ever yet appreciate them less than ever until, all of a sudden, that photo becomes irreplaceable, unrepeatable and ultimately it becomes a piece of our history.

It’s easy to get weighed down with the pressure of trying to make photographs that are praised by our peers and industry leaders. To crave thousands of followers and the fickle adoration that comes with being Instafamous. But all the likes in the world can’t come close to a photograph of a lost loved one. Of the endless photos that are produced each day, and the millions of likes that accompany them, nothing will ever be remembered like the photos that truly define history. Sometimes that will be in the form of award winning photojournalism, with photographers risking life and limb to share a story that the world needs to see and remember.

Most of the time though the photos that define history are the ones that define OUR OWN history.

_2meter (4 of 6).jpg

An Adage To Live By

I have no idea where I read or heard this, or who said it first, or the exact wording used. Anyway, to my recollection it goes something like this:

*”We spend our 20’s and 30’s worrying about what other people think. Then we spend our 40’s and 50’s not worrying about what anyone else thinks. Only to realise in our 60’s and 70’s that nobody was thinking about us in the first place.”*

If we’re lucky we might create photos that get noticed online, we might gain followers and earn some Steem. But if we’re really lucky we’ll create photographs that tell stories of our history, that our relatives will look at in years to come.

That’s WHY our images matter.

All Images are mine and copyright belongs to me. Please RESTEEM if you like my work. Please Upvote my work to help support my content on Steemit

Sort:  

Great post!!

Thanks dude! Muchos Gracias :)

But if we’re really lucky we’ll create photographs that tell stories of our history, that our relatives will look at in years to come.

THAT says it all!!

Wonderful post @skiesandsports. You and your wife work so well together and I enjoy your posts. You let us in on the intimate stories of the people you photograph - not just through words but mostly through the images.

Great job!

Thanks @countrygirl :) That's so nice to hear, it's awesome to get such a nice reaction to a post like this, I think sometimes we all get lost in what a photo looks like at first glance, how much attention it's going to grab, but really the photos that mean the most are often the ones that don't attract as much attention!

This almost made me cry. I feel it all. And I've always said it. In a way, photography breaks the time line to become a witness of a moment that passed and stopped existing, all that is left of it, is that photo you made, so how you reflect that moment is a big responsibility. Love your work, and all the feelings behind this post.

Thank you @gabyoraa, certainly not my intention but it's so nice to know you connected with the text :) totally agree with you, the more time that passes the more we appreciate all of these moments we capture!

Reading this put tears in my eyes. Those photos--ALL of them--are so sublime and so pertinent with the story behind them! You're obviously mega talented so you need no one to tell you that but damn!

I think this is the best article Ive read on steemit that invoked such a serene pathos in me. Keep doing what you do--for what you're doing it for! You, sir, are amazing.

Pardon this question, I only ask cos I came across your blog only recently: How'd the Olympic career go? Any gold medal? Lol.

Keep putting up great stuffs, man.

Cheers,
Ras.

Ah wow, thanks so much dude! I'll be honest, that's something that's ALWAYS good to hear!

It's funny because once you embrace the idea of doing it for personal fulfillment rather than external praise it's a much more maintainable passion. That said I think everyone needs/loves a little ego boost from time to time!

Ah I'm afraid it wasn't an Olympic Career for me, more a failed attempt to become an olympian, I made it to the Commonwealth and Olympic Trials but I was a fair way off making the team!

You take a little break and come back with this, awesome! Heartwarming and a little heartbreaking too, but all the more important because of that. You have an amazing way of capturing real emotions, and you do it so beautifully, that is what makes your images so powerful.

Haha thank you so much! In fairness I've been wanting to write more on here, but as we had a 16,000 word presentation to perfect I felt guilty taking time off to write a few thousand for Steemit! Glad to have no other writing/content creating commitments anymore :) plenty of time for more Steem! I think once you decide that capturing real memories is more important than capturing 'wow' shots you start to look at things differently and the emotional images come easier :)

I'm going to answer two comments in one, because they overlap a little and I want to save both our time :D

I think the emotional photographs are the ones with WOW factor, and if they are somewhat decent quality, that's a winner in my book! I think I've always had good concepts and ideas, but I've lacked on the technical and execution part of the process, so that is something I've been trying to work really hard on improving. I'm always trying to better myself in my work and hearing that someone else thinks I'm making progress, tells me that I'm going to the right direction.

What required you to write 16000 words and is it something you could share parts of in Steemit?

Haha good thinking!

I totally agree, but from a commercial point of view it doesn't tend to attract as much attention as an epic shot of a bride and groom in a stunning location. It's a shame but that's kind of the way of the world I guess, in the same way that photographing attractive couples helps tremendously!

To be honest that's the best way to be, if you have the concepts the technical skills will catch up, but if you learn the skills and don't have the vision it's a lot harder to come out with the winners! I think the real key to photography [and just about ANYTHING!] is practice. Your skills have definitely come on in leaps and bounds, I've no doubt it will carry on that way too given that you've already showed you're committed to it!

V and I give talks at wedding photography conferences, there's usually a 'lineup' of a dozen or so photographers who all give talks about aspects of business/shooting etc. For this year we were talking all about Documentary Wedding Photography (although - frustratingly - we had to pull out at the last minute for health reasons; on the mend now!) so it's fairly niche to be honest! I went through to see if I could use any of it but it all involves big rewrites. I'll definitely try to use parts as inspiration for Steemit articles though. It's just making sure that it's subjects people will actually enjoy!

I kinda want it all, the technical, stunning location, amazing sunset and the gorgeous, emotional subject. Bu you can't have it all every time, and I think the emotional aspect is what brings it all together and makes everyone remember the picture.

I think I still put out stuff I am not proud of, and look back thinking that I know I can do better, and next time I will!

It sucks that you did all the work and didn't have the chance to showcase it, so do try to make it work for Steemit :) I hope nothing too serious is going on and you and V are doing good! I always enjoy reading what ever you have written in relation to photography, and I am very picky! I love your articles and you have given me a lot of inspiration and help, not always straightforward but some things that I have later noticed to be helpful.

EDIT: I was sure I already resteemed this in the morning but apparently, I didn't, it's fixed now!

Haha yep, that's always the goal! You're right though, if you have the emotional aspect the rest is just a bonus!

To be honest I think we all do, sometimes I'll post a shot then look back in a day/week/month and wonder why I even posted it. Sometimes it's just tastes changing, other times it's just knowing you'd do it different/better second time around! It's nice to have shots you love, but if you love them all you stop pushing yourself!

I know, we were gutted, but it's just one of those things, fortunately everything worked out fine and we're both healthy and happy which is the main thing!

Thank you for the resteem! It's always really motivating to know people actually find inspiration in the articles. I love teaching/sharing, it's interesting to hear you've found some things useful later on, it's amazing how often I read/heard things about photography that just didn't make sense to me, then years or months later something cropped up and it all made sense. There's a lot of the journey that you just have to experience first hand to properly understand! Really appreciate the continued support :)

Nice pictures ! well captured photos.

Thank you very much!

Good job !

Thanks for these impressions!