METADATA MONDAY by @derekkind - Photo Games Week #2 Day 1

in #photogames6 years ago

Metadata Monday - Guess the shutter speed!!

THE PICTURE


Week 2 - Season 1 - Day 1
click to view large

ABOUT THE PHOTO


Can you tell me what shutter speed I used when I took this photo in Zion National Park? You get one guess, make it count! Comment below. :)

THE PRIZE

  • PUBLIC PRIZE POOL = 1 SBD / each Photo Game Star -- Total Prize Pot: 5 SBD
  • If only one person gets the correct (or closest) answer they will win full prize pool
  • If multiple people guess correctly (tie for 1st): 60% to first person / 40% divided between the next 5 people

TIME LIMIT

  • For this game you have 2 days to guess (Wednesday 6PM EST / 11PM UTC)

RULES FOR PUBLIC

  • The closest guess will win the prize!
  • Only one guess per person, per post.
  • No editing your guess - you have to commit!
  • All metadata has been stripped from the pictures, so don’t bother looking for the EXIF!
  • We are not required to tell you what kind of camera was used, or what time of day the photo was taken at, or whether filters were involved (this adds to the mystery and the challenge!).

WHAT ARE THE PHOTO GAMES?
Read more about them here

Sort:  

Oooh, was hoping someone would do a longer exposure! I'm going for 2" for this one, was tempted with longer!

I like this one. My vote is for 2"

So close! Casey, the correct answer was 1 second, but you're only one stop away, and are the closest among the Competitors! :D

isn't 1/8th of a second closer to 1 second than 2 seconds though? In case @vmoldo is also competing as a guest star..
Screen Shot 2018-02-09 at 10.25.48 PM.png

I was thinking of it in terms of stops - and I should probably write this in the rules - one stop difference between 1 and 2 seconds, three stops to 1/8. Otherwise you could argue that 1/4000th is closer to 1 second than 2 seconds is.

yeah, I am a little confused now. I don't know what stops are (in shutter speed), but I know that simply measuring the exposure time, 1/8th of a second is closer to 1 second than 2 seconds. I am probably missing something..

Stops are a doubling (or a halving). 2 seconds is one stop longer than 1 second, while 1/2 seconds is one stop shorter. 1/250th is one stop longer than 1/500th, which is one longer than 1/1000th, etc. Aperture is measured in the same way, in that each stop of aperture lets in double or half the amount of light, it's just not obvious because of the way the numbers read: 2.8, 4, 5.6, 8, 11, 16 are all one stop apart.

1 second

Precisely! You are correct, and you were the first to say 1 second! :D We have a three-way tie, but you'll take home 60% of the prize. :)

Thanks. Beautiful falls

1 second is my guess

That's right! You and @youngatheart will share 40% of the prize, since @snooway was the first to guess 1 second. :D

1 second

You got it exactly, and though @snooway was the first to say 1 second, you and @woodzi will split 40% of the prize. Well done! :D

Another beauty! 15 seconds.

8 seconds

OK I gotta go with my nephew on this one!

This is for the competitors side competition

I'll guess 1/10 second :)

15 seconds

20 second

10 seconds.

nice photo! my guess is 1/8 th

i'll back this answer up, the grass on the right seems quite frozen in time

8seconds

Water streams are not blurred too much, so my guess is that shutter speed was not too long:
3 seconds

0.3 is my guess.

I'm gonna go with 6 seconds.

Beautiful shot, the leaves almost look like distant clouds across a sunset.

0'5 seconds

Hmmm, I was there with you so I'm trying to remember how long your shutter speed was going for...🤔

My guess: 1.5 second.

By listening to a track of slowly falling water, I conclude this is 5 seconds.

1/6 because I can still see the stream