Greatest mistakes

in #photography7 years ago

In the world of digital photography we have fallen into the bad habit of quickly scrolling and deleting anything that isn't just perfect with the push of a button. Got to save that precious memory. In the olden days of film, you took your 24 pictures, developed them, and anything you didn't like you could just toss in the trash. At least from what little I remember of those days of past.
Sometimes, though, in those mistakes you find a real gem.
IMG_0192.JPG
For this image I had my friend help me learn my new portable studio flash.
The sun shining off this small pool of water caught my eye as we were driving to our location. Here I have this poor girl in a ditch on the side of a small country highway, my camera is down at my side while I am fiddling with the buttons on the strobe trying to make it all work.
At the end of the day THIS was my favorite image and I wasn't even paying attention to what was being shot.
Of course, if you have a happy accident, remember that you don't have to tell anybody.
Keep Shooting!