8 Days of Pelelu Tepu; Day 1

in #photography6 years ago

Day 1

March 7th, 2018, 11:27 AM, Paramaribo, Suriname; we were supposed to be in the air by now. But I already expected that we'd be departing a while later than planned. We're off to Pelelu Tepu, a Native-American village in the southern parts of Suriname. Together with the head of our organization, I'm leaving to do some research on the Trio tribes as part of our new exhibition.

IMG_0025.jpg

We boarded the airplane around 11:50 AM and finally took off at exactly 12:05 PM. I am scared of heights, so as the plane took off I had to lean back and look straightforward. I honestly had no interest in looking down, but I needed material in order to publish this post.

Everything seemed so adventurous at this point. There was a Native-American kid on board, who was on his way to the same village to visit his parents. His name was Vidjay and he was only three.

IMG_0007.jpg

Landing

We landed around 1:05 PM, which means the flight only lasted an hour. And I always knew the Natives to be very shy people, but the people of Tepu (as the village is usually called) are very welcoming. The guys helped us unpack and carry our luggage to our house. We walked with Sergio, our village guide, to his house and he gave us simple tips and instructions. We were supposed to meet with the head of the village, locally called the Gramman, to tell him what we were coming to do.

IMG_9976.jpg

Around 2:00 PM I tied my hammock and decided to test it out. Short after, I fell asleep and woke up three hours later to a few locals fixing a few things in our house. In the evening, I went to the river to take a bath, but I'm not a fan of cold water so it took me a while to actually get in the water.

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 00:32:53
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 102.11/200.00
Total Photos: 3
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 0.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank