8 Days of Pelelu Tepu; Day 3

in #photography6 years ago

Yesterday, I woke up to the sound of my alarm. Today I woke up to the call of my bladder to be emptied. It was dark, misty, and I was the only one awake. I headed to the river to take a bath and brush my teeth. Yeah, that's how we roll in Tepu.

IMG_9199.jpg

Today we were supposed to go to the woods with Marcel and Tuno. They would show us another tree that Tuno uses for medicinal purposes. Marcel arrived at exactly 8:00 AM to inform us that the appointment we made with the school to accompany the pupils on their "First Aid Busi Dresi" class couldn't continue on Monday. This, because the teachers would be very busy that day. Instead, the rescheduled the First Aid Busi Dresi class to today around 11:00 AM, after their break. We had our breakfast and headed to the school.

IMG_9201.jpg

IMG_9203.jpg

The trip into the woods began as Tuno, Marcel and three other teachers guided the pupils. We just followed them, because the purpose of our trip along with them was to learn from the ways they lived. In Paramaribo, this is not thaught to students. To me, this was also a new thing, a First Aid Busi Dresi class. Most of the information was told in their native language, Trio. Marcel's sister, who happens to be one of the teachers, translated Tuno's information for us. The duration of this class was about an hour, after which we headed back to the village.

IMG_9230.jpg

On our way back we planned to teach the kids a dance the next morning. This dance is Brazilian and in our current exhibition "Mix Max Brasil", we teach Capoeira, Frevo, Ciranda, and Maculele. These are all Brazilian dances, but I find Maculele one of the most interesting ones. In the evening, before going to bed, I practiced a few moves with my boss and now I'm super excited to know if they'll like the dance. Guess I can only find out tomorrow...

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.15 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.03
Server time: 03:09:29
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 112.36/200.00
Total Photos: 5
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank