8 Days of Pelelu Tepu; Day 6

in #photography6 years ago

Who even wakes up at 2:00 AM when you went to bed at 11:30 PM? I do, especially when your intoxicated roommate snores and chants like a Native-American. And to top it off, at exactly 2:45 AM I hear someone running on slippers, only to find out it was my boss (who I traveled with). I was awake for a while because I automatically started focusing on every sound I heard. At some point, I was able to doze off and then woke up around 6:15 AM

IMG_9500.jpg

I took my bath, got dressed, had breakfast and waited for my boss to wake up. When she was ready, Marcel - our guide - picked us up to go see the Yapoko tree. I mentioned in one of my previous posts that Tuno uses this to heal people. Alanta, another employee of the ACT (Amazon Conservation Team) joined us, as he knew where the tree was located. We spent about 45 minutes in the forest where I saw a giant caterpillar and the shed skin of a snake. After a long walk that caused hunger, we finally came across the Yapoko tree. We even got a small tree to tale along with us back home. We made our way back to the boat, we got in and headed back to the village. On the way back I was able to snap a few shots.

IMG_9543.jpg

IMG_9568.jpg

Also, today was finally the day that I climbed onto THAT rock (the one where the village got its name from) and decided to read The Fault In Our Stars (by John Green) on it. Didn't take too long before I went back to the house... the heat wasn't too pleasant. When I arrived I had my lunch.

IMG_9586.jpg

Throughout the day I continued reading the book, as it was my goal to finish the book before I left the village. Between 7 and 9 I had my evening meal. This was quite entertaining for me because at home I don't have this much company when I'm supposed to have my meals. After a while, I got up and decided to finish the book. I finished it at exactly 10:32 PM. It was time to finally go to bed.

Good night, reader.