Memory lane: the 2004 Japanese Grand Prix

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

_MG_7007.jpg

While I was living in Japan, back in 2003-2004, I had the opportunity to go and watch the Formula 1 Grand Prix at the Suzuka Circuit. I'm not a huge F1 fan but I did follow it quite a bit back when Michael Schumacher and Mika Häkkinen used to battle it out.

_MG_7034.JPG

It was unforgettable. The atmosphere, the people, the race cars, the roar of the engines, the smell of burnt fuel and rubber, it all came together in one incredible experience.

_MG_6709.jpg

Michael Schumacher won the race that year. And with the win, he set the record for most wins in a season at 13. Expectedly, he also went on to win the drivers' championship that season. It was his 7th and final championship win, which also happens to be a record. So this particular race holds a lot of significance for Michael Schumacher's illustrious career and it was great to witness it.

Here are a few more photos I took of the cars:

_MG_6726.jpg

_MG_6918.jpg

_MG_6731.jpg

_MG_7022.jpg

_MG_6732.jpg

Thanks for taking a stroll with me down my memory lane. Till the next one!

Previous edition: Paris and the Canon G1


All the photos above were taken at the Suzuka Circuit on the 10th of October 2004 with a Canon 20D camera body and (if I remember correctly) Canon EF 70-300 f/4.5-5.6 DO IS USM lens

Extra:

Suzuka circuit map--2005
Suzuka Circuit map: Will Pittenger - Own work, CC BY-SA 3.0, Link

The Suzuka Circuit has hosted the Japanese Formula One Grand Prix since 1987. The only exceptions were in 2007 and 2008 where the race was held at the Fuji Speedway. Suzuka Circuit opened in 1962 and is owned by Honda Motor Co., Ltd.. It's the only figure-eight race track in Formula 1, and, it's very popular with both the drivers and fans.

Sort:  

Nice photo's man!

Thanks! This was back when I still had a passion for photography. Lately, it hasn't been there. Once in a while I'll help @tarazkp shoot a wedding but that's about it. I'm hoping that by digging through my old photos and talking about them I might rekindle the interest. Let's see...