Photographing the flow of water

in #photography5 years ago

IMG_7418_2.jpg

New Zealand is a pretty wet country. As a consequence, the country used to be covered by native rainforest. Most of the native forests has long been gone, but some patches of native bush remains. It is within these patches of native bush to expects lots of water and mud. Hiking becomes challenging, and photographing becomes even more challenging. Just because there is too much to photograph.

Here, I crossed a small stream during a hike on the South Island of New Zealand. Although, I was not carrying my neutral density filters, which allows me to use long exposures, I tried to capture the flow of the water. I set my camera to M-mode and set the aperture to the smallest opening possible. Allowing only a small amount of light to pass through to the sensor. I set the ISO to 100 and subsequently set the exposure to the longest time possible without overexposing the image. After a few test shots, I was satisfied with the result. Even without my much-loved neutral density filters, I can shoot long exposures. Well sort off, at least this time it worked.