You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SH-BOOM! Being a Tourist in ones own Town - Vintage Feelings

in #photography5 years ago

My dear Erika, another lovely trip into the past.
The 70's...I was in my twenties. I had a felt purple hat with a wide brim that I wore to work. Caused a stir, which surprised me, except among the few jazz fans there, who applauded my sense of style😆. I think wearing that hat to work was my last public blast of rebellious youth. At home I wore bell bottoms, tie dyed and paisley. The late sixties into the seventies...that's when I found my stride. Thanks for bringing it back .

I was born in the late forties(!), but lived in the country until 1958. In my youth I saw little of the world. Ask me about trees, fields, cats and dogs. Twice a year the family would get to see a bit of the world. Easter and Christmas we'd take a train, the Grand Central Railroad, to New York City. When we arrived we'd go straight to the automat. It was like wonderland for me.

You're right... nobody wore seat belts. No cars had air conditioning. The first car I remember looked something like this.

We never had milk in bags. Bottles, but not homogenized. The cream would rise to the top and you could scoop it off.

You have diners in Germany? They are still quite popular here. Actually, I prefer eating there than a formal restaurant if I go out. More casual.

I see you have another blog up. I will go to it as soon as I stop writing this way-too-long comment.
Have a most wonderful day, Erika