Pizza Fritta | The real taste of Naples

in #photography6 years ago

So, in my previous post (https://steemit.com/photography/@agniese/the-legend-of-naples) I mentioned fried pizza, right?

I think I owe some explanation.

Neapolitan pizza is the one from which everything has started, and the art of its making is included on UNESCO’s list of intangible cultural heritage. I’m sorry to disappoint you: I’m aware that now your whole world can collapse, but what you eat in your „Italian restaurant” outside Naples is more likely not a real pizza.

And beyond pizza napoletana, we have pizza fritta (fried pizza) that is a traditional „fast-food” of Campania, Puglia, and Sicily.

Naples pizza 1.jpg

Naples pizza 4.jpg

Naples pizza 3.jpg

Naples pizza 2.jpg

You must try this one while in Naples. And what I can suggest – go to the most hidden, creepy place you might find in one of those narrow streets of the capital of Campania. And if you meet my fried pizza master, say „tutt’ a post’ compa?”

Below I insert a bonus pic of me and Gaiola, that I forgot about last time ;)

gaiola me.jpg

Sort:  

I don’t know why, but for a brief moment I thought that the man from the first photo is brewing beer... like this craft brewery:
IMG_5149.jpeg
In fact this is in Sliven where “Трима и двама” brew their beers.

Great post and... I’m envious about Italy! I promise to go soon!

Everybody sees what wants to see, my friend ;) You will be happy with food in Italy, that’s obvious but surprisingly they have some good beers as well. And no, I’m not talking about Peroni ;) Thanks a lot for the comment!

Looks delish....and greasy but good like a big piece of fried fish!

Love the photo at the bottom of you looking out to Gaiola.

It’s deepfried, so actually less greasy than, let’s say, Bulgaria mekitsa. At least the one I tried. But yeah, let’s be honest, it’s not the lightest meal you can have but damn, is freaking good :D
Thank you for the comment, Dear. I’m happy you like the photo :)