ColorChallenge: Blue Friday - Mexican Bluewing Butterfly

in #photography7 years ago

466.JPG

I was lucky enough to find myself at the Natural History Museum of Los Angeles just in time for their Butterfly Pavilion. Inside the enclosed area was many butterflies flitting about. They also had the host plants for the butterflies, which was nice to see. Because of this, you can watch both caterpillars and butterflies feeding from the plants.

While walking through the exhibit, I kept seeing a flash of brilliant blue here and there. I finally found this beauty resting on a bench, which allowed me the time to take a photo of it. This is the Mexican bluewing, whose wingspan can reach up to 3 inches. They are commonly found from Central America to Mexico, and even in the lower parts of Texas.

Have you seen this butterfly before?


I hope you enjoyed this post! If you did, an upvote, resteem, comment, and/or follow would be appreciated! Thank you!

Sort:  

I like it, thanks for sharing @akemirayko

Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it!

What a beautiful blue butterfly. It's colors are so brilliant and striking. I don't often see blue butterflies where I live. The Natural History Museum of Los Angeles must be an amazing place to visit. It must have been fun to experience these natural wonders up close. Thank-you for sharing your post with us!

It is such an amazing color! I was literally chasing these blue butterfly throughout the pavilion. The museum itself is very nice, and you are greeted by those iconic two dinosaur fossils.

Looks very very good :) Followed

Thank you so much! I am glad you liked it!

whoa, that's a special pic,, lovely blues and violet

Thank you so much! I am very glad you liked it! It was such a striking butterfly!

Really pretty butterfly! I love simple pictures of nature like this

Thanks so much for your comments! I am glad you enjoyed it!

I like butterflies, but the Mexican Bluewing Butterfly butterfly I have never seen. It's so beautiful, it's all god's creation

It truly is an amazing butterfly! Thanks for the comments!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by akemirayko from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Congratulations @akemirayko! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I have never seen this butterfly.
Can I see if I visit the Natural History Museum of Los Angeles?
Someday I want to go and see. Thank you for sharing the wonderful photos.

Thank you so much for your comments! You can definitely see it! From March through September, they run this Butterfly Pavilion. There are so many to see! You should definitely go!

This post received a 4.6% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @akemirayko! For more information, click here!