ColorChallenge - Monday Red: The Ladybird Poppy

in #photography7 years ago

511.JPG

While visiting a botanical garden in California, I happened upon a group of these bright red flowers I had never seen before. I thought they looked just like ladybugs! Come to find out, they are actually called "Ladybird" poppies!

These beautiful annuals bloom from spring to early summer, and are used in gardens to add a spot of color to an area. Not only that, their seed pods, as you can see in the photo, are also very aesthetically interesting!

And did I mention they are deer resistant/tolerant? Well, it turns out that they have something in it that is toxic to deer, meaning they won't eat these flowers!

If you have the space for it in your garden, these unique poppies would be the perfect filler for it!


I hope you enjoyed this post! If you did, an upvote, resteem, comment, and/or follow would be appreciated! Thank you!

Sort:  

Beautiful Image and nice click dear friend. I'm also a photographer

Thank you for your comments! I'm glad you liked it!

What a beautiful picture of a red flower! The "Ladybird" poppy is stunning and it does remind me of ladybugs. I love that you share these less seen flowers.....you are expanding my flower world! Thank-you very much! Have a great week ahead!

You too are sharing lots of beautiful flower pictures - so thank you for that! I'm glad you enjoyed my post. You also have a great week ahead! Don't work too hard!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by akemirayko from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

I've seen red poppies before but not like these with those black dots. Fascinating. Isn't nature marvelous.
Great post and photo btw
Resteemed and upvoted as requested. ;)

Thank you for your comments, vote, and resteem! And it is true - nature really is marvelous! It never ceases to amaze me!