ColorChallenge: Sunday Purple - Purple Aquilegia

in #photography7 years ago

1314.JPG

While hiking in the Sierras, I saw a group of these beautiful purple flowers growing out in a meadow. I thought they had such a unique shape and brilliant color. Turns out, what I photographed was the Aquilegia, more commonly known as columbine.

The name of these perennial plants derive from the Latin word aquila, meaning eagle. This is because the flower is said to resemble the claw of an eagle. Can you see it?

Many cultivars are available, and popular, for use in home gardens, but did you know that you can also eat the flowers (in moderation)? Said to be sweet in taste, Native Americans used this flower as a condiment with other greens. Just don't eat the roots or seeds - they are very toxic!


I hope you enjoyed this post! If you did, an upvote, resteem, comment, and/or follow would be appreciated! Thank you!

Sort:  

Beautiful picture, beautiful flower and a wonderful narrative. I now know what a columbine plant/flower is. Thank-you for sharing another great post. I hope you have a great week ahead!

Thank you for the comments! I didn't know what it was either till I did this article! Lol. You have a great week as well!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by akemirayko from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Beautiful macro shot and beautiful flower! we also call them columbine. :-)

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! I'm glad you liked it! I also heard them referred to as "granny's bonnet," which I think is so adorable! ^_^

yes, that is cute! I saw lots of them when I was in Massachusetts in the springtime and had to ask someone to help me identify them . It's too hot for them in Florida, but they are beautiful flowers!

Oh, I know what you mean! I live in Hawaii, and we don't have them here either. I just happened to see them while hiking in Sierras, and I had to do a lot of research to try and figure out what they were!

They are the state flower of Colorado, I found in my research. :-)

Oh, what a beautiful state flower to have! Thank you for looking!

Keep strong

Thank you for your comment! I will!

Thank you for always beautiful photos!

Thank you for your comments! You are so sweet!

This post received a 2.4% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @akemirayko! For more information, click here!

It is a flower called Odamaki in Japan. I love it. Thank you for the wonderful photos.

Awww, thank you so much for your wonderful comments! I'm happy you enjoyed it! Japan has such beautiful names for flowers!