ColorChallenge - Tuesday Orange - The Orange Tiger Lily

in #photography7 years ago

033.JPG

This photo of the tiger lily was taken while on one of the many hikes I did in California. It was just hanging there in the middle of the path, beckoning me to photograph it.

Grown from bulbs, the tiger lily is valued as a very ornamental plant. Though I don't know the origin of its name, I can only imagine they named is "tiger" because it was orange with darker spots. I actually see cheetah more than I see tiger. What do you guys think?

Some interesting facts about the tiger lily: there was a superstition that you would get freckles if you smelled this flower, and the flower symbolizes prosperity and wealth.


I hope you enjoyed this post! If you did, an upvote, resteem, comment, and/or follow would be appreciated! Thank you!

Sort:  

The tiger lily is so striking! I can see why it is called tiger lily. You must have had wonderful hikes in California, encountering so many different plants and flowers. I bet the scenery was also fantastic. Thank-you for sharing this beautiful picture with us!

Thank you for your comments! Yes, it was striking! And it was just hanging out there in the middle of the path - I couldn't miss is! Hiking there is so beautiful, especially when there are wildflowers!

This flower is tiger lily. In Japan, it is called Oniyuri. It looks like a tiger by the viewer or it looks like Oni is funny thing.

Thank you for your comments! I like that name, Oniyuri. It is interesting what people see!

Definitely more cheetah than tiger for sure. I like the way it was just hanging there waiting for you to take a photo. Sweet image.

Thanks for your comments! I'm glad you enjoyed it! I know, right? It should be cheetah lily ^_^

This post received a 2.5% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @akemirayko! For more information, click here!