ColorChallenge - Wednesday Yellow - Flowering Texas Barrel Cactus

in #photography7 years ago

221.JPG

I photographed this flowering Texas barrel cactus, Ferocactus hamatacanthus, while at a succulent and cacti garden. Some other common names for this cactus include Turk's Head and Giant Fishhook, though I have no idea why. This cactus is also widespread in Northern Mexico, Texas, and New Mexico.

From this beautiful flower, an edible fruit will form. This fruit will be fairly thin, yet juicy, with a flavor similar to kiwi. I have never had the pleasure to try it, but it sounds tasty! Have you ever tasted the fruit of this cactus?


I hope you enjoyed this post! If you did, an upvote, resteem, comment, and/or follow would be appreciated! Thank you!

Sort:  

Awesome photography with this color.I am voting you.Please check my post.

Thank you very much for your comments! I am glad you enjoyed it!

Hi. I am a volunteer bot for @resteembot that upvoted you.
Your post was chosen at random, as part of the advertisment campaign for @resteembot.
@resteembot is meant to help minnows get noticed by re-steeming their posts
Even better: If your reputation is lower than 28 re-steeming only costs 0.001 SBD!
If you want to learn more - read the introduction post of @resteembot.
If you want help spread the word - read the advertisment reqruiting post.

cactus flowers are so beautiful! never tried the fruit, would love to try tho

I agree! They are beautiful! Thanks for the comments!

I love the simplicity of this variety. The colors are beautiful too!

Thank you so much for your comments!

What a unique flower. I love the delicate beauty of the flower while it is somewhat surrounded with a lot of intricate, interconnected thorns and weaves. It is quite a contrast and a beautiful picture. Maybe they call it a Turk's head because the thorns kind of seemed like they are tied up like a Turk's head knot. The fish hook is probably because the large thorns are sort of shaped like a fish hook. I really don't know but a I gave it a try at guessing. Thank-you for sharing such unique flowers that I have never seen before. :D

Thank you for your comments! You're right, I can see a sort of fish hook, but I'm still not sure what a Turks head knot is ^_^

I did not know that cactus can be eaten.I want to try someday.Thank you for a good post.

Thank you for your comments! They can definitely be eaten - I think the most well know fruit from a cactus is dragon fruit. You should definitely try it!

Congratulations @akemirayko! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

It is a beautiful picture. I did not know that this cactus can be eaten. I would like to try it once.

Yes, if you ever have the chance, try it! I would recommend dragon fruit.

This post received a 5.0% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @akemirayko! For more information, click here!