ColorChallenge: Yellow Wednesday - Yellow Orchid

in #photography7 years ago

188.JPG

I recently visited San Diego, and like many, found myself exploring Balboa Park. As a lover of nature, I found myself predictably drawn to the Botanical Building. Did you know that they care for over 2,100 plants? Many of them are tropical in nature, such as cycads, palm trees, and, of course, orchids.

Pictured above, I believe, is a moth orchid, one of the most popular orchids in the world. It is said that some orchids in this genus seem to resemble moths, hence their common name.

Thinking of growing orchids? The moth orchid is a perfect starter for you! It is fairly hardy, and can be grown in most homes. But not only that, they have a beautiful elegance about them! If you can, give them a try!


I hope you enjoyed this post! If you did, an upvote, resteem, comment, and/or follow would be appreciated! Thank you!

Sort:  

Beautiful yellow orchids. Can't believe the deep yellow color. I am so use to the purple and white orchids so seeing the yellow is a treat. Thank-you for posting your beautiful picture!

Thanks for the comments! It's amazing the variety of orchids there are! So many different shapes and colors!

Nice Shot!

Thank you very much! I am glad you like it!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by akemirayko from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Is this picture you taken? It is really beautiful.
I like orchids even among flowers. Because it is beautiful and smells good.
Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for your comments! Yes, I did take this picture. I like orchids too. There is so many different forms and colors!

Because the photograph is beautiful, I thought whether professional photographer taking flowers took it.
It is a wonderful photo.

Oh, you are too kind! I am honored you felt that way! ^_^