Thoughts on the new Fuji X-Pro3 + Street photos

in #photography5 years ago

Since the new Fuji X-Pro3 was just announced I thought I'll share some of my initial thoughts. I've been eagerly waiting to see how the new addition to this series will look like cause it's practically made for those who enjoy shooting street photography and love to do it in style. :)

The first thing you notice is that there is no back LCD screen but only a small preview of film simulation and basic settings that is reminiscent of old analog cameras. However the screen is actually hidden and can be accessed by flipping it down up to 180 degrees as shown in the photos below.

Image source theverge.com

It is designed with the idea to make photographers use the viewfinder predominantly and avoid so called chimping - checking the photo on the back screen after each shot. This way you are more likely to stay present in the moment and avoid missing the shot while you are busy reviewing the photos. You can shoot with the LCD flipped down but my guess is it doesn't feel that good.

I often use LCD on my X100F to shoot street photography cause it's less obtrusive and you can stay invisible, unlike when you bring the camera up to eye level. That's why I'm concerned with this choice for X-Pro3 and will probably decide not to purchase it.

The other noticeable change compared to X-Pro2 (and basically all other new cameras) is that Fuji used titanium to build top and bottom frame. It is supposed to be more durable and it looks great, although oily fingerprints can be an issue.

Few other changes worth mentioning - 26 MP sensor, same as the one from X-T3, 4K 30 fps, removed d-pad from the back as well as delete button (looks like they focused completely to give this camera an analog experience), in-camera HDR option, new film simulation Classic Negative which looks absolutely beautiful with high contrast and vintage colors.

All in all, the camera looks stunning as it is expected. However, the LCD screen that's flipped backwards is going to discourage many enthusiasts from buying it. It was a bold move from Fuji and I'm sure they knew it will be controversial, but the camera was not meant to everybody anyways. Personally, I will probably look between X-Pro2 and X-T2/3 to update X100F with something more versatile.

Anyway, here's another bunch of street photos taken this summer.


Sort:  

I often use LCD on my X100F to shoot street photography cause it's less obtrusive and you can stay invisible, unlike when you bring the camera up to eye level. That's why I'm concerned with this choice for X-Pro3 and will probably decide not to purchase it.

This is one point I have missed out in my reaction to the announcement of the X-Pro3 — Fujifilm X-Pro3 — A Major Design Flop!

They gave us a focus limiter on this model (which is very nice), and I will wait for an X-Pro4 or X-E4 model hoping for fully articulated screen, focus limiter and those new film simulations.

Well put first reaction, @lighteye! Overall, the hidden LCD screen is a big mistake and I don't see how anyone will like it. It's a shame cause otherwise it's a beautiful camera.

And yeah, I forgot to mention adjustable tone curves, nice feature as well.

Thanks for sharing the camera. I just happen to know the perfect person to share this with.

Have an epic one!

P.D: I'd appreciate your review on my latest post: The Best Time to Workout Revealed

Glad it was helpful.