Photography: First Hike- Shenandoah National Park

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Here are few shots of our first hike. We parked in the Jone's Run parking area at MP #84. Our hike started on a small section of the Appalachian Trail, then we took Browns Gap Road to Doyles River Trail and finally finished Jone's Run Trail. Bring us in a full loop back to our car. On this route we saw 3 spectacular waterfalls. Upper Doyles Waterfall, Lower Doyles Waterfall, as well as, Jone's Run Falls. The first half of the hike was downhill and easy going. Coming back up the trail to the parking lot, from Jone's Run Falls, was a little much for a beginner like myself. It was fairly steep and rocky. I wasn't overly exhausted or fatigued, I just got a bit winded. We pushed through and made it back to the parking lot feeling accomplished and excited to plan our next hike.

I'll be honest and let y'all know, I did fall a few times. Let me say black ice is NO JOKE, even on rocks. There was a thin layer of ice on some gravel sized rocks that I didn't see. It took my right foot out from under me and my left knee hit the ground. All I could do was laugh and get back up. The second time I fell; my legs were getting tired and I didn't lift my foot high enough the clear a pretty large rock on the trail and I fell forward. Again, I just got up and laughed at myself. I hope y'all a few of our pictures.

Those beautiful "White Blazes" of the AT IMG_2193.jpg


River Crossing

IMG_2234.jpg
Upper Doyles Waterfall
IMG_4690.jpg
Lower Doyles Waterfall
IMG_4699.jpg
Jone's Run Waterfall
IMG_4742.jpg
Icy Moss
IMG_2270.JPG
Icy Run-off
IMG_E4711.jpg
Beautiful Sun Rays

Big RockIMG_2230.jpg

Sort:  

You did great on the hike, you're a trooper!

What a beautiful day to get out and do some hiking. The frozen waterfall looks amazing! How long did it take you to do the walk?

Ps: If you want to give others an easy access to the same walk, you can pin your post to the @steemitworldmap.


Upvoted and resteemed by the @Climbing-Trail!

The @Climbing-Trail is an account dedicated to giving climbing and hiking a platform here on Steemit. It is manually curated by @HaTo.

You can upvote this comment if you like to support the @Climbing-Trail and follow if you want to discover quality content like this on a regular basis!

Thank you! I am definitely going to give that a shot! It took 4 hours give or take. We stopped a lot and also had lunch by the Doyle's River.

That sound great, just like the prefect Sunday trip! :-)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=alexandra-white
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=photography-first-hike-shenandoah-national-park


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!