Birds minted on Silver

in #photography7 years ago

Today's theme is beautiful birds minted on Silver... I was quite torn on which to pick so I ended up picking ...4 coins - and it could have been 8 or 10 if I had more time. Anyway, let's see what we've got:

1) LA Olympics - One Dollar

2) Canadian Dollar 1967

3) Bahamas Two Dollars 1966

4) US Peace Dollar 1923


As a note, Peace Dollars, Quarters (of the same 1910-20's era), the 10$ Gold with the Indian Head, and the 20$ Gold are among my favorites. There's something about the numismatic art of that period which was awesome - and I don't think it's any coincidence that the US Mint is still using some of the same designs.


Photographic settings: Compact Sony DSC-WX220 / ISO 100 / EV -1.3 to -2.0 / Natural Light

Copyright notice: I release these in the public domain, for use or edit, by anyone, for any reason, with no attribution required.

Sort:  

I got into coin collecting when I was a child. Coins of yesteryear (in America) are just absolutely beautiful. I love the designs. So many.

My enthusiasm waned. For my entire life, the coins of The U.S. have been the same. Dull. Even the 50 states quarters only kindled my interest for a little bit.

It seems to be a trend for a lot of countries to not be able to keep up producing aesthetically pleasing coins - like they did in the past. From one perspective (the collector perspective), it's good for the older coins one has - as they are better appreciated compared to modern ones. From another perspective (wanting to see something new), it's indeed boring not getting any new coins. So, inevitably, either one loses interest, or switches to the international market (that's what I've done).