My first million ! How it changed my life...

in #photography6 years ago

So here it is, my first post on steemit.
I was thinking now for weeks what I could post and then I thought :
why shouldnt I show you guys how my first million views on my Youtube video changed my life...

So here is the story :
I was 20 Years old ( now 26) when I started to create cinematic videos on Youtube based on cars and automotive stuff.
The thing was , I didn't really know how to use a camera. So why would you start trying to shoot car movies if you have 0 knowledge about cameras , have to study in university , havent got so much time to have a hobby and so on.

Well , I was in love with cars. I was addicted to cool cars, tuned cars and so on.
We had a local tuning meet here in Berlin. I allways went with my cheap car , that I tried to tune , there . There were photographers who took pictures or captured videos , but no one really cared about my car.
So I decided to use my old camera to start filming my own stuff at that meet.

Later on some people came to me while I was shooting and asked me if I could come with them on car events or trips, to capture the whole thing on my camera.

Thats where I started , but still didnt earn any money.
After that even my family and friends laughed at me , telling me I am stupid because there are alot of people who make money with it and are way better than me with much more expensive equipment.
I should stop it and focus on my university and my life.

I did not want to listen and let those people drag me down. Because I was loving this hobby.
One day I filmed a friends M4 which was just epic looking for german standarts. I posted that video on my profile but didnt get much attention. Than I wrote a mail to a bigger Car page on youtube and ask them to use my video.
They agreed and posted the video , which exploded in the view count few days later.

I reached 1 million views !!!

But how did this change my life ?? Well , people in my local area started to ask the m4 guy who was known in berlin, if he could get in contact with me to ask me , if I'd like to shoot a video for their car ( car rentals , car detailing).
I accepted and earned a little money. After that more and more people came to me , asking me if I'd like to shoot a video for their restaurant and so on. I didn't have much knowledge but I learned with every video a bit more.

Finally I got a job at a car wrapping company which had no clue about posting videos on youtube. I helped them by creating a Youtube video and contacting all the famous rappers to let their car getting wrapped at their place.
We filmed it and reached over 10 mio, views within just a few months.

P1050018.jpg

Now I earn money , which I couldnt dream of before a a student. I quit my job at a local supermarkt and feel now way better because I can do what I love. I love cars, taking videos and making new friends.

So all in all , it is allways possible to change your lifestyle , you just have to stick to your dreams to make them come true.
Don't let people drag you down. At the end , there will be nobody around you if you need money or help but if you work for your own dream. It is allways up to you.
That means , if you let people tell you that its bs to stick to your ideas and that you cant do it , than you should see this as a opportunity to show them that they are wrong.

Sort:  

Congratulations @aypod! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @aypod! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!