Painting With Photography

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Norris Project 3 - 3.jpg
Noir by Nick Norris. Digital Photography.

I always wanted to paint. I really tried to, but the images in my head weren't the ones that would come out on canvas. I had an infinite amount of dreamscapes trying to escape my head.

Then I found Jerry Uelsmann's work.

I took up photography as just an elective at first, but during the course, I did a report on Uelsmann. His photos were exactly the kind of photography I wanted to do and a way to express what is in my head.

wizard_and_glass_by_vahn_fenel-d6wv1w1.png
Wizard and Glass by Nick Norris. B&W Dark Room Process.

bigger_on_the_inside_by_vahn_fenel-d6wzqnk.png
Bigger on the Inside by Nick Norris. B&W Dark Room Process.

My early black and white work lacked the visual power Uelsmann could create, but it was a good grasp at basics. I spent a long time refusing to use Photoshop and insisting on maintaining my goal in being recognized in alternative B&W photography. After two years, someone explained thoroughly what this technomancy called Photoshop was actually. It's a digital darkroom, another tool to use.

Norris Project 3 - 1.jpg
Merlin by Nick Norris. Digital Photography.

New Luna.jpg
In Her Element by Nick Norris. Digital Photography.

I got savvy on digital photography and produced some canvas like pieces for my own pleasure. With a combination of brush strokes and filters, I've been able to slightly replicate drawn and painted images.

Sort:  

Congratulations @bardoflore! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @bardoflore! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!