You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Growing Potatoes At Home Using Local Resources Part I: Genesis And Groundwork

in #photography3 years ago

The gardens (front and back) are both pretty wild as far as 'city' gardens go - completely unmanicured anyhow :). The grass gets cut 2/3 times per year and that's about it.

The soil became clay further down I went, but mixing it with compost (homemade and commercial) along with horseshit from the bridal paths around made it really nice. It's what I'm using for the 'earthing up'.

Also the primroses have been absolutely killing it this year - these guys below are from a little patch under the hedge near where Flame likes to sit. They've been around for a number of weeks and I've never seen them so happy - all lined up and waving :D.

primrose.jpg

Sort:  

We have clay here too. It's like concrete come summer.

Very generous of the bridle paths to help you out with nutrients. I guess you don't have to pick up after horses like you do with dogs, which is your gain.

Lol, yes indeed :)

Flame's pretty considerate and often poops off-piste in the woods. On the way back from Portugal last summer, before I'd begun my career as a pooperScooper, she dropped a couple of huge ones in the middle of Burgos. I didn't have anything to scoop with anyhow and we just walked on in glee. Nowadays I scoop from places other folk might step, also to avoid them cursing her/us in anger - I do my job with the jobbies!

Also in Portugal, I spent a few days shovelling horseshit. It's quality stuff and doesn't even smell bad.

horsey.jpg