You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A winter blooming cactus - Mammillaria Bombycina

Oh WOW you got some great shots of those flowers. What's cool is that the macro frames really show how delicate and lace like those petals are. I have a (quite larger - over 8ft tall) cactus that bloomed one flower several years ago. pure white and it bloomed in the middle of the night. I got up to see it before it wilted away. Soooo Beautiful. Never bloomed again. This small guy you have here is absolutely fantastic. Great color. Sort of calming and peaceful even though those sharp thorns are waiting to get me if I dare touch! hehe. Have a great rest of your day @ewkaw :-)

Thanks for sharing these!

Sort:  

Oh my! Those columnar cacti are harder to bloom I think. Also some need many many years to mature and be even ready to bloom! I have a few too, but never bloomed. Not as tall as yours though! I can imagine how gorgeous the flower must have been.

You can dare to touch, but be ready to be hooked :P


hehe.. so true! We had the cactus for about 10 years when it finally bloomed. Inherited from my aunt. She had it for probably 25 years or so before me! Never bloomed for her. Guess it like the room it was in. BEAUTIFUL FLOWER!!! I may do a post on it, but who knows when I'll get around to it, so i'll share a few pic's below...

IMG_1328.JPG

IMG_1322ssf.jpg

IMG_1314.JPG

Wow! The cactus is amazing! And the flower even better. Such a shame hey don't last long.

Your right. It is a shame.