You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Beginner Questions on Photography

Sorry I am late on this post. I find depth of field really washes away what has the high potential of distraction. This is displayed well here. When shooting flowers, especially outdoors and preferably real .. hehe just messing .. I like to incorporate the primary color of the flower into the blurred areas in front and behind the subject. In my mind opinion this adds interest and hints that there is more going on but in a subtle way. I nice contrast between light and dark is a huge plus. This concept is represented well in your last two photos. It would be interesting to see this last photo of the plant on the coffee table from multiple angles as to play on the lighting in the room a bit.

What camera type are you using here?

I like to shoot macro pointing the lens into a light source in order to really darken the background up without the use of photoshop type product...
IMG_1606d.JPG
I love experimenting like that. Not straight into the the light..sun in this instance..just off slightly as to not go blind. haha.

Best of luck!

Sort:  

Awwww! Love it! You are the only one that understood this post. I love your suggestions. It is a new camera, Nikon D500, I am still trying to master it along with the photography skill. I hate learning it from the book. I am one of those people who jumped from automatic to manual mode. I know there is a cheat of aperture priority and shutter priority mode, but I am really trying to master the manual mode.

Haha, I know I sound crazy, but appreciation of the final product is the key to photography. If the picture looks bad, it definitely looks bad.

Thank you for the sincere response and awesome suggestions! Please do visit my page and you are welcome to criticize all my pictures :)

I am no professional by any means, but I love to learn and love to give constructive criticism..to those like me who can take a little. hehe. My buddy has a Nikon D500. Really Really Really nice camera. I am using an old Rebel T3i and antique stuff. I may make the switch when the wallet is fuller. lol. Have a great day and most certainly will follow to keep in touch!