Travel Diaries: Penang’s Kek Lok Si Temple - Dedicated to Buddhist Goddess of Mercy.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Completed in 1905, it is also known as Temple of Supreme Bliss.

This gorgeous temple is home to the largest statue of Goddess Kuan Yin in Malaysia and features a 7 story pagoda which holds 10,000 Buddhas!

Join me on a virtual tour!…


Views.

There are many smaller temples and a vegetarian restaurant within the grounds.

However, rather than head to Penang Hill for panoramic views, I suggest Kek Lok Si instead. Even with the terrible haze situation (pictured below), you still get to see quite a bit of the island.

Largest Kuan Yin Statue in Malaysia.

The bronze Kuan Yin statue overlooks the hillside where the temple is built, giving the impression she is conferring blessings over residents and the island.

🔸 Is there some other destination that reminds you of a large statue overlooking a mass of land?

It is quite a trek up to the statue. Although stairs/walkways were covered and stores with refreshment and souvenirs lined the path, I felt best to drive my way up instead. Straining in the haze just isn’t a good idea.

🔸There is also a train (RM 6 with return), but I had a car, so may as well.

Kuan Yin towering above me.

The extravagant, 16-pilar roof!

😻I also made a furry friend!

Sights.

Events are usually held at the temple from time to time, along with specific prayer sessions.

Walking across the square I happened upon this
colourful set up hosting a Prayer Ribbon tree!

Such happy colours!

✨Hope for the winds to carry.

Would I recommend Kek Lok Si Temple as “Must See”?

Absolutely!

One of Malaysia's pride and joy's.

📸 Images are my own.


Follow me @BelleKaur.

🔹Upvote and Resteem🔹

Adventures in Penang:

Sort:  

Hello@bellekaur.. Beautiful of your picture and very nice country, i come from Buddhism country so great of you post . I really love it ,Thank you so much for sharing will see the new post of you and upvote for you . Have a nice day ,

thank you @annsita!
Kuan Yin is very special to me so I was thrilled when I got to visit this temple. 🤗

Amazing. Wish I can visit this location and take pics...

✨ wishes do come true!

Great trip, I like this kind of reporting. I'll follow you because you're great. Thank you

that's very encouraging! thanks so much!

I have never been to Malaysia but your virtual tour is nothing less than the real one for me.
Beautiful country and Beautiful Pics.

Thanks for sharing

Followed, ReSteemed, Commented

pls look at my post -
https://steemit.com/steemit/@anil777/how-steemit-changed-me-as-a-person-believe-me-it-s-phenomenal

thanks so much! shall give your post a peek!

Me too...will definitely visit soonest...

The world abundes of great places. You just have to discover it!

it does, indeed!
I find it's helpful to ask a local person's advice wherever I go; i find the best spots! :)

Very interesting @bellekaur Upvote!)

cheers! :)

Looks like a nice place to visit.

it is! :)

awesome clicks great

Wow .. Look at that architecture and the breathtaking view, It is funny how Every culture has gods of mercy and peace but non of the them have the real power of mercy and feeling of peace :P

amazing photos Mrs!

the haze messed up exposures and tinting though :(

Interesting place with such a charmed history... thanks for sharing. Followed you... looking forward to see more of Malaysia with your posts.

thanks very much! i hope to deliver! :)

Surely you will....

Awesome photos again @bellekaur.

thanks so much for being supportive!

@bellekaur nice piece of information :) and whole post is super clean and looks just good :) following you from now on.
If you will have a minute please check my post about food in Warsaw, capital of Poland. I've created story about Night Market, where you can eat really well :)
https://steemit.com/food/@radzioha/warsaw-by-night-1-night-market-the-street-food-gem
hope you'll enjoy it!

thank you! will give yours a peek

Will earn enough using steemit and travel the world... Added Kek Lok si to bucket list... Good post ☺️

yes you will! ✨

Once again you make me wish I could travel more!

✨ may all your wishes come true! ✨

beautiful as always @bellekaur . Penang has so much to offer.

Oh! I realised that there's an extra statue beside the copper Kuan Yin statue.
I used try to spot it afar even without the pavilion whenever I am crossing over to the Penang Island. Now with it, it is even more obvious!
upvoted

yeah, there are a few other statues up there with her.

Wonderful place, I really love that Prayer Ribbon tree! And the little kitty ofcourse ;)

yes! that Prayer Ribbon tree was so,...reassuring - that simple but complex idea of hope.
the kitty was adorable! belongs to the temple and was so affectionate.