Circus themed photoshoot set build

in #photographylast year (edited)

This is probably my favourite photoshoot set build to date!
Last year I had a client request for a circus themed photoshoot, and of course I just had to go all out and build a whole new studio set!
You can view the YouTube Timelapse video of the set building progress here, if like me you prefer visuals to written word:

I bought several meters of red and white velvet fabric from an affordable UK based fabric stockist (Pound Fabrics) to create a big-top, circus tent, curtain backdrop.
I was very kindly given many meters of gold fringing by my sister in law a while ago, and this was the perfect opportunity to put some of that to good use, at last! I finished the curtains with some old gold curtain tie backs I had lying around at the studio, and a handful of cream ostrich feathers for a rather ostentatious finish.

F34CFA31-E31B-4F34-AEF5-E2560224C82E.jpeg

It was then time to build the knife throwing board! With a little assistance from @leighscotford
We used 2 boards of 8x4 12mm thick ply, fixed together to cut out a 6ft circle, and Leigh built a sturdy stand to prop the board up.
After gathering some inspiration for the artwork for the board, I settled upon a star design, in red, white, blue, yellow and orange. We then hammered an old dagger into the board and she was finished!
Next up on the prop building list was a lion tamers plinth, which after much deliberation we decided the easiest thing to do would be to buy a cheap gardening trug, cut it down to size and fill it with expanding foam and offcuts of wood for extra support up the sides. This meant that the plinth would be light enough for me to move around the studio with ease, but also strong enough to stand upon. We covered the trug in paper and pva before painting. I added a wooden top and trimmed with some more gold fringing.

Not happy with my slightly 90s orange laminate flooring at the studio, I remembered I had a wooden floor patterned backdrop which I laid down, and dressed around the knife throwing board with an old trunk filled with costumes and props.
It was now time to take it for a test run, so I invited an old friend to the studio for a makeover Photoshoot.

18985623-0132-4904-8DFA-97CC8C05E487.jpeg

1F67628F-1821-4287-A5FD-50F8E31BBCFA.jpeg

D2C0929F-8D4C-40F2-B4DE-5E4A2E51937A.jpeg

F2485A13-172D-41B1-8B4D-F9E3BD20E2D3.jpeg

80ECC4DE-39D3-47B3-B4DB-756480B8E8A0.jpeg

DAE3B1EC-3193-48C7-A7B6-20F375713BCC.jpeg

AE6AA902-F52C-4E4C-96DB-FFB243149CBF.jpeg

E1AB5D0E-E7E4-4B9A-8E4A-8E3080AAE353.jpeg

834490E4-AB75-49A8-A06E-0AB32C141AE3.jpeg

I am so thrilled with these results.
It's turned out even better than I could have hoped for.
I've added some extra items to my studio wardrobe such as ring master jackets, clown ruffs, corsets and sequin shorts. I shall definitely be taking some self portraits on this set when I get a chance! I don't want to miss out on all the fun of the circus!

Sort:  

That looks great and your friend seems to have enjoyed it. You guys are so creative.

Good to see you back on Hive.

!PIZZA

Thank you @steevc 😊 It's good to be back!

Hi @bettynoir,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Thank you 😊

That's a really cool circus stage, and you hand built it as well! Do you keep all these props for future projects?

Thank you 😊 Yes I'm definitely keeping this set at the studio for the foreseeable future. The knife throwing board stores away quite nicely up on the wall, so I can still shoot other looks in the same space.

Great results @bettynoir I love it.

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@steevc(3/5) tipped @bettynoir (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza!

Congratulations @bettynoir! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 60 posts.
Your next target is to reach 70 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - February 1st 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!