Coloured Gels Photography

in #photography2 years ago

As a makeover photographer I predominantly work with the general public rather than models, which means I don’t often get a chance to experiment with my photography, unless working on a self portrait project. So every now and then when a client books a session with me and gives me free reign I take the opportunity to use part of that session to try something a little out of my comfort zone.
I have worked with coloured gels just once before on a self portrait project, and some times I’ll add just one colour as a backlight on client shoots, but have never taken the chance to really experiment with them before.
For this particular client I had a very specific look in mind. I wanted vintage styling, with atmospheric lighting and rich vibrant colours.
As well as a photographer, I am also a vintage hair and makeup artist. The styling on a photoshoot is just as important as the lighting and taking the shot. It tells a story and vintage styling in particular is a story that I love. A moment suspended in time. Recreating that nostalgic feeling I get from looking at old photographs, but in glorious technicolour! The coloured gels are a great way set the mood and add a cinematic feel.

644C3E7E-9881-4022-A231-F061EA72DC99.jpeg

I decided to use one orange gel to create a warm glow, and a blue gel to add mystery. I used the gels on my 7” reflectors with grids, and a 22” beauty dish with grid as the main light (no gels on this one). I was very careful to avoid mixing the coloured lights on my model, so that I clear true colours coming through.
I always feel a little nervous trying out something new with a client as I can’t guarantee the results I want. I had worked with this particular lady several times in the past, so was comfortable in taking my time to make sure everything was set up correctly. I am so in love with the results, as was she.

DFDFD430-9379-4612-A1FE-FD5890301BAA.jpeg

My work at the studio is all about helping others gain confidence, which is hugely rewarding. The change literally happens right before my eyes, in the way someone holds themselves. Their posture and stance change. The chest opens up, the chin lifts a little, and the hands relax. I really hope that my clients take that feeling with them, and are reminded it’s already inside them, each time they look back at their photos.

C58ACD0F-C3BA-463C-9D2A-C5B9D6C0AC72.jpeg

I wanted to add a quick snapshot of my clients hair and makeup. I pin curled the hair using a heated tong. Pinning each curl when its hot and allowing it to cool before styling, really helps the curls set and last much longer. Once cooled I created some victory rolls at the front, leaving one of the ends loose to make a little pin curl at the front. Then brushed out the rest of the curls, which gives that soft vintage wave.
I kept the make up fairly simple, with a soft brown and pink smokey eye, a set of my lashes and of course a classic red lip.

1426AAFD-6355-4BF1-8F6A-3CF46A7D8DAC.jpeg

I am entering this photoshoot in to Qurator’s Photo Quest competition, Suspend Time photography.

Sort:  

Hi @bettynoir,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

These are gorgeous! I love the styling and lighting. Good luck in the competition! :)

Thank you @cathgothard lovely to connect with fellow photographers!