In My Mom's Garden

k13zp9.png


A Garden View on Mother's Day

rw62lv.jpg

Just as I do every year, on Mother's Day I was at my parents house, hanging with my mom. The home I grew up in has many fond memories. My family has owned the property for over 35 years. It's nothing too extravagant. It's spacious and in a nice town to start a family and for kids to be raised in. It has a real small- town feel to it, as if you set foot inside an episode of Dennis the Menace.

9xsl56.jpg

On Mother's Day the weather was brilliant, so my mom and I decided to walk around the property and take a look at the gardens she has spent so much time caring for, almost as much as her kids. Growing up at that house, and in that small town, often times I take for granted the sheer inspiration and beauty of something seemingly so simple, like flowers blossoming in May. I became so accustomed to seeing ample and extravagant plant life at my home and around town, it seemed as though it was status quo for the world, and it always would be for me. Obviously as you get older you realize that's not as realistic out in a cold hard world, but nevertheless, it's nice to go back and look, appreciate, and remember.

g11df6.jpg

My mom is a very learned individual, a very versatile woman. She was a stay-at-home mom from the time I was born and took her job very seriously. For someone who's afraid of flying in an airplane, only having been on one a handful of times throughout her life, and none at all in the last 30 years, she's extremely worldly. And, for someone who expresses such discontent when eating almost any type of food (that isn't dark chocolate buttercream candies), she is the most amazing cook I've ever met or had the pleasure of dining with. It was nice just sitting back and appreciating the view, and remembering things the way they used to be, so I thought I'd share.

Happy Mother's Day Mom.

Love you.


Azaleas

1tnvx0.jpg
64wzvw.jpg
78exqy.jpg
993zu8.jpg
fallmy.jpg
q67knt.jpg
4ix34b.jpg
eibp2n.jpg


Columbines

9bcirp.jpg
oxhsy0.jpg
ns597l.jpg
fm30l6.jpg
2o92rh.jpg


Weigela

6u4ebw.jpg
zz85vu.jpg
hxbuvf.jpg
0fbd4t.jpg


Magnolias

4bm4ml.jpg
nedu9i.jpg
xon6fk.jpg
30moiw.jpg


The photos of the magnolia tree were taken before mother's day, as it's only in bloom at the beginning of April, however I thought it too magnificent not to include.


63kn02.jpg


yw6woj.png