Mono Monday: A Tale of Two Beaches

I was inspired this morning by a post by tattoodjay. He shared some killer monochromatic photography. Check it out!

6EDEE3B3-1D47-41FC-AA42-5FE6EE1AA76C.JPG

The photograph that stood out to me the most was the fourth one shown in tattoodjay's post. Something about the glassy water, and how it contrasts with the cloudy sky is so beautiful.

I kept scrolling back up to look at the image. So much can be expressed within a single hue. It inspired me to play around more with some photos I had recently taken at the beach. Nothing fancy, these were all taken on an iPhone XR

Black Water

blackwater.JPG

This was taken on a beach on Anna Maria Island in Florida. I had to go to Sarasota for a work trip a couple weeks ago. I was excited to be near the beach, but it rained most of the day I had down there. There were breaks in the showers though, opportunities to get my feet wet.

Best Foot Foward

tybee.JPG

This is my home beach, Tybee Island, GA. I grew up here. I look at this image and see myself as a child, playing in the tide pools, frozen in time.

I hadn't been back in years, but found myself there a month ago for a wedding. It felt so good to. Home has a weird way of waking up different parts of you.

I loved looking back on this picture I snapped and seeing what looks almost like a lone footprint in the sand. I feel like I'll always have at one foot pointed towards that place - towards home.

Beach Scene

beach.JPG

Tybee again. A cloudy day, but many out enjoying it. I wanted to emphasize the changes in the sand's texture. Each section feels so different on bare feet.

Eyes in the Sky

BA86C07D-E28C-4F6B-8A57-0F4154676EA5.JPG

I wish I was able to capture this better. One evening on the beach this helicopter kept circling overhead, along with the birds. It felt militaristic in contrast to the peaceful beach. I used an orange hue to make it feel ominous, and darkened the shadows in the clouds on the horizon.

I hope you enjoyed the imagery. This was my first post on here. I am really excited about the Hive ecosystem, and eager to engage more with it!