Foods of Taiwan! - Dessert Edition -

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I decided to start this series with desserts and sweets, since they're actually my least favorite category. But...they're also usually the prettiest foods. So I guess I'll try to go from most to least attractive...

This one's from THE ice creamery in Taichung, and their reputation is well-deserved. Most of the ground floor (I think there were three stories total) is occupied by a long, snaking line of customers that shuffle towards the display freezers containing a ridiculous number of ice cream flavors. (To give you an idea, they had about 20 varieties of chocolate.)

DSC07109.JPG

After all that build-up, I thought it could pretty much be summed up as a nicer-looking version of Coldstone, with more/better flavors. But it was probably wasted on me since I don't really have a sweet-tooth.

Personally, I liked this traditional frozen dessert more:

DSC06676.jpg

These are pretty much sold everywhere on the street. It's made of a thin, doughy skin (think crepes), with frozen peanut shavings (they basically grate a huge block of frozen peanuts) and ice cream, then rolled up like a burrito. Sweet and savory...mmm...

Ok, so these two probably should've gone first if I were trying to go from prettiest to ugliest...

DSC05031.JPG

DSC05030.JPG

I doubt they taste all that great, but they do look good (except does anyone else think it's weird that the bunny's ears are pink, and white on the inside??). Yup, the bakeries over here are pretty obsessed with decorative cakes. In terms of impressiveness, on a scale of 1-10, these are probably only fives--I just didn't get pictures of any cooler ones. My bad.

The candies below are also very traditional and sold everywhere by cart. The carts tend to draw a crowd, watching the candy maker (candy cook? candy chef? candy artist?) create the the candy characters from scratch.

DSC08001.JPG

If you're ever tempted to bring some home, be aware that they do crack and shatter pretty easily, so maybe just enjoy it there :)

I thought these guys were cool, but there's really not much to say.

DSC06096.jpg

They basically taste like nothing. Moving on...

Okay, so eating McDonald's in a foreign country might seem trashy, but I highly recommend it. A lot of the time, the menu will be modified to appeal to local tastes. (OMG they had a burger with a beef patty and a salmon patty inside! mmm also! they had a fried pork cutlet hamburger with cheese sauce drool...) For example, this isn't an apple pie:

DSC05782.JPG

It's a taro pie. And also they probably still fry their pies, because it was extremely hot inside.

Alright, that's it for the sweet stuff. Unless I hear otherwise, I'm probably gonna go with seafood for the next installment.

Bon appétit!

Sort:  

Nice photos, @blustreak. Taiwan's got some fantastic food and desserts. The best Matcha ice-cream and latte i've had was in Taipei.

dude yes! i went back for about 2 months and gained 20 pounds (almost 10 kilos), no joke 0_0

With so much good food, it's completely understandable. Probably why my Taiwanese friends are so tall as well...

Wer the ice creams in the big store good though? All fluff and no substance perhaps? Great images. X

ehh...it was definitely good ice cream...but just ice cream? i'd say it's really good, but a little too much hype. thanks for reading!

They make the food looks so cute!!
Follow me @xredsoulless

hah yea, tell me about it! just wait for any holiday to roll around.

followed!

i hate cinnamon, dont like it at all, in coffee, in pie, in any food....
but McDonald's apple pie make me love it , even though there's cinnamon in it,
couldn't find out the reason haha :P

yea totally! the fried apple pies are so good...we only have baked pies in the US now -__-

haha
i'm moving to USA this July,and i have already started to miss Taiwanese food now