Americas Treasures: The Monument Valley

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

One of the most amazing places on earth, bar none.

In 2014 I traveled across the USA first by train (westbound) and then by pick-up truck (eastbound). I have shared a lot of those pictures in my posts, but have never dedicated a single post to any of them. These shots were all taken in the Monument Valley in Arizona. I stayed on the local Navajo reservation for the night (best lodging bargain in America) and got up early to get to Oklahoma City. It was pre-dawn and I was not quite awake. But I had my camera on the passenger seat and just shot things that caught my eye. A lot of these are shots where I pointed my camera out of the window and just took a series of pictures. They are not pro quality, but the scenery is so spectacular it does not matter. So the lighting stinks, the photographer stinks, and the pictures are awesome. BTW, for those not in the know, a lot of westerns were filmed in the Monument Valley, so some of this may look familiar.


Look at that scenery


My lodgings the previous evening, I think I paid less than $100 to be in the shadow of greatness


Nothing like photography at 70mph


Sun is starting to come up


Sun peaking up over the mountain


Still impresses me

Peace, love, and rock and roll,

M.

100% follow back, together we can all accomplish great things.

If you like these entries or have any questions or want to offer encouragement please post a comment or hit the upvote button, while making money is not really my concern I would like to know that I am not shouting into an empty canyon.

If you want advice and help with formatting your posts for better exposure and readability, head on over to #steemprentice on Steemit.chat. There will always be someone (or four) to give you a hand and offer some friendly, constructive advice and help on anything including content, formatting, marketing and networking!

Hello! I am Mike K. I am an educator, lifelong student, military vet and wannabe musician. I have a love of history, economics, philosophy and motorcycles. I am quickly moving from minarchy to Christian anarchy philosophically and want people to stop meddling. My debut CD should be out soon!

BMWRider
Riding in Tennessee with my son on the Green Eyed Snake

Sort:  

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Awesome shots, nice to see what a beautiful country that is!

I have been blessed and been able to see some really pretty places all over the earth. Thank you.

We've spent a fair amount of time up there. It's really an amazing rugged beauty, with some incredible hidden gems. Thanks for sharing.

I love the SW, I have some pictures of the Mojave to share another day. Thank you for looking.

Amazing shots!

Thank you, like you I love outdoor photography.

What a beautiful place. Nice shots! :)

I love the desert, I know there are people who are not crazy about it. Thanks.

Dude, I just saw this post right now. This just happened to me yesterday with @Boxcarblue with a post about japan. Anyways, I just posted about the same location as you. Slightly different area but similar. I really need to read everyone's posts before adding mine. I guess great minds think alike. : ) Nice post and I like the pictures, don't cut yourself short. The 5th image is lovely. Have a nice weekend.

It is an awesome place and people need to see it. Thanks a lot.