The world down there / Die Welt da unten

in #photography4 years ago
Middle of January I came across another orchard. Can't say that it was an olive orchard, because beside olive trees there were a number citrus trees as well. This one was obviously not completely abandoned (although the fruits did not get harvested), so the ground was not overgrown & offered some interesting views.Mitte Januar war es mal wieder Zeit für einen Obstgarten. Olivenhain möchte ich das jedenfalls nicht nennen, da dort auch viele Zitrusbäume standen. Der Hain schien nicht komplett aufgegeben worden zu sein, obwohl die Früchte offenbar nicht geerntet wurden. Der Bodenbewuchs wurde jedenfalls kurz gehalten, wodurch sich einige interessante Perspektiven auftaten.

qn1u37.jpg

Didn't have to go uphill a lot. The orchard is in Patras proper. The city is quite interesting in that regard, because part of it has a distinct rural character. But a few dozen meters further you have another built-up area.War zum Glück auch nicht sonderlich weit bergauf, sondern noch im eigentlichen Patras. Die Stadt ist in der Hinsicht recht interessant, da einige Stadtteile doch sehr ländlich anmuten. Auch wenn man nach einigen dutzend Metern schon wieder in einem Wohngebiet ist.

ngjxps.jpg

At first I was mostly interested in the trees & looking for birds. Looking down was just a little distraction.Zunächst widmete ich mich mehr den Bäumen & suchte nach Vögeln. Die Welt zu meinen Füßen war nur eine kleine Ablenkung.

3tuz1c.jpg

This orange tree caught my eye because of its rather peculiar growth. The weight of the fruits which almost only grew on the extended part must have put quite some stress on the wood.Dieser Orangenbaum fiel mir wegen des seltsamen Wuchses auf. Das Gewicht der Früchte scheint doch schwer auf ihm zu lasten.

m4j4uo.jpg

Well, the world below the trees looked more interesting, so I started to focus on the ground. There were a number of these plants below. Don't really know what it is, perhaps some kind of anthurium, though probably not.Nunja, die Welt unter den Bäumen war dann doch interessanter & ich konzentrierte mich dann darauf. Von der unten zu sehenden Pflanze gab es da so einige. Interessante Struktur. Konnte leider nicht rausfinden, welche Art es ist.

14s6hq.jpg

Although it was middle of winter, some tiny plants were blooming. So tiny, actually, that I used a macro extension to get close enough.Obwohl es mitten im Winter war, blühten doch einige winzige Pflanzen. So klein, daß ich einen Makrozwischenring rausholte, um nahe genug ranzukommen.

0zrxk1.jpg

Since I like macro photos, I kept using it.& da mir Makrofotos gefallen, blieb ich erstmal dabei.

elnsmu.jpg

Interestingly, although the area here is usually rather dry, in that orchard a lot of moss was growing. Moss is a fascinating subject for macro photography.Interessanterweise wuchs dort viel Moos, obwohl die Gegend hier an sich sehr trocken ist. Moos-Makros haben etwas für sich.

ifv6n3.jpg

Another of these tiny flowers caught my eye. Back home at the computer I noticed these even tinier animals. No idea what species that is. Pretty sure, they are not aphids. But else?Eine weitere dieser winzigen Blüten fiel mir auf. Am Computer sah ich dann diese noch winzigeren Viecher darauf. Keine Ahnung, worum es sich handelt. Vermutlich keine Blattläuse, aber was sonst?

lr6lpl.jpg

The next one is particularly nice for its colour composition, in my opinion at least.Das nächste Bild gefällt mir v.a. wegen der Farbkomposition.

808h98.jpg

A moss forest in front of tiny mountain:& Ein Mooswald vor einem Miniberg:

idcs85.jpg

Then I had enough macros, I thought, but before I removed the extension, I looked up at the trees again. Gave me some nice perspective of an orange:Dann hatte ich genug von den Makroaufnahmen, aber bevor ich den Zwischenring wieder wegpackte, wandte ich mich nochmal den Bäumen zu. Gab eine nette orange Perspektive:

xzy3g6.jpg

The oranges looked quite good. Since they were already falling off the trees & nobody seemed to care, I decided to pick some.Die Apfelsinen sahen gut aus. Da sie schon von den Bäumen fielen & niemand erntete, entschied ich mich, einige zu pflücken.

s5wnoe.jpg

In Patras you see orange & lemon trees pretty much everywhere. Much rarer is this one, a grapefruit tree:In Patras sieht man Orangen- & Zitronenbäume eigentlich überall. Viel seltener sind Pampelmusenbäume wie dieser:

d2h6cv.jpg

Also picked 2 grapefruits. Don't really like them, for being too bitter, but had not eaten any in decades. & since there were also some nice-looking tangerines, I also picked a few of those.Also pflückte ich auch 2 Pampelmusen. Mag sie eigentlich nicht, wegen des bitteren Geschmacks, aber hatte schon seit Jahrzehnten keine gegessen. & da es auch einige lecker aussehende Mandarinen gab, bediente ich mich auch daran.

duuks5.jpg

I think, I know now, why so many citrus trees here are abandoned. The quality of the fruits is not good enough. The tangerines were mushy with no particular taste & the oranges were too sour, although they were already falling from the trees. Only the grapefruits were standard, but, well, I don't like bitter.Jetzt weiß ich, warum es hier soviele aufgegebene Zitrusbäume gibt. Die Qualität der Früchte ist eher mäßig. Die Mandarinen waren ziemlich matschig, ohne großartigen Geschmack & die Orangen waren zu sauer, obwohl sie schon von den Bäumen fielen. Nur die Grapefruits waren OK, aber, nunja, bitter eben.

ddlpo4.jpg

After I had picked some fruits, I concentrated on the ground again. The above tree stub caught my eye. Seemed to be a snail graveyard. Shells of at least 3 different species were lying in the hole.Nachdem ich einige Früchte gepflückt hatte, konzentrierte ich mich wieder auf den Boden. Der obige Baumstumpf fiel mir auf. Schien ein Schneckenfriedhof zu sein. Schneckenhäuser von mindestens 3 verschiedenen Arten lagen in dem Loch.

xha9z0.jpg

Then there was this:Dann war da noch dies:

onqwky.jpg

Obviously someone had been interested in this tangerine. I suspect a magpie, but not sure. There were a number of oranges & tangerines with such round holes in them.Jemand hatte sich offenbar daran zu schaffen gemacht. Vermutlich eine Elster, vielleicht auch nicht. Es lagen einige Orangen & Apfelsinen mit derartigen Löchern auf dem Boden.

4yasds.jpg

Midwinter, & a single ant was working. It was trying to get a rather big seed to the nest.Mitten im Winter mühte sich eine einzelne Ameise ab. Sie versuchte, dieses Samenkorn zum Bau zu schaffen.

h889e8.jpg

A nice snail shell with a crumpled olive.Schneckenhaus mit Olive.

nryik8.jpg

& for a change, not a mad barker. This one didn't really know what to make of me. Was a bit curious, but when I showed no particular interest, it went away again.Ausnahmsweise mal kein verrückter Kläffer. Der wußte anscheinend nicht, was er von mir halten sollte. War etwas neugierig, aber als ich ihn nicht weiter beachtete, verzog er sich wieder.

twmg35.jpg

Well, by then I had had enough as well. The sun was going down & it was getting cold. But before I went home I saw another wintery flower. That's narcissus tazetta, if I'm not mistaken.Zu dem Zeitpunkt hatte ich auch so langsam genug. Die Sonne ging langsam unter & es wurde kalt. Aber bevor ich nach Hause fuhr, fiel mir noch eine winterliche Blume auf. Dabei handelt es sich um eine Strauß-Narzisse, falls ich richtig liege.

cy59hz.jpg

Only the mountain tops were still in the sunlight. So, I called it a day & went home. But as usual, here are some more pics:Nur die Berggipfel bekamen noch etwas Sonne ab. Also machte ich mich auf den Weg nach Hause. Aber wie üblich, noch ein paar Bilder:

04u6ej.jpg

6oks7u.jpg

s12slj.jpg

p259x0.jpg

evehlv.jpg

p8fl26.jpg

tn4ato.jpg

0b5am0.jpg

rqongk.jpg

3c706k.jpg

0yjdxk.jpg

u7ed2d.jpg

9yl1dv.jpg

lie4vq.jpg

ggfj3z.jpg

4tx8xd.jpg

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and reblogged by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks!

Du hast ein Upvote von mir bekommen, diese soll die Deutsche Community unterstützen. Wenn du mich unterstützten möchtest, dann sende mir eine Delegation. Egal wie klein die Unterstützung ist, Du hilfst damit der Community. DANKE!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Dear reader, Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.me/esteem