Now it's time to travel ...

in #photography7 years ago

we are going to the Vestfirðir, Iceland and I don't know if, or how many photos I will be able to post in next days. But in the meantime, here is one photo of an old abandoned factory (very good photo location) at Djúpuvík that we will visit. This place, Strandirnar in Vestfirðir, is one of the isolated places in Iceland. Only 50 old people live there and soon no on will when the old people move away or die.

But this is a beautiful place that we have visited before and are looking forward to visiting again. But it's remote, the road to the north in Iceland ends there, you cannot go any further but on foot.

Djúpavík-2.jpg

This is where the road ends.

Fjaran-verksmiðjan á Ströndum.jpg

If you want to see more of my posts, click on the #bragih hashtag

Sort:  

Going to follow you for more of this trip, interesting to see as ive never been there before but want to!

I will take as many photos as possible to show you how this remote place is. But there is also a wedding there and that will take some of the time :)

Sure I will wait patiently ;) have fun!

Thanks :)

Great photos enjoy your trip away and we will catch you on the return

Thank you, maybe I can get in internet contact some were an post, will see :)

oh wow, I LOVE abandoned buildings! I'm adding this one to my list for October.; I'm staying for two days in Ísafjörður and I will drive over. Thanks so much :D

But look at the weather forecast because they only clear the road from Hólmaví one's a week I think and this is a tuff road, you will have to be on a jeep that is prepared for driving in snow, not just a regular 'rent a car' car. This is way off Road 1.

Sounds good...We're hoping we get lucky with the weather, but we have rented a 4 wheel drive vitara that is supposed to be outfitted with snow tires before we get there, fingers crossed!

Enjoy your trip! And take lots of photos :)

I will, already started :)

Enjoy your trip!

Thank you Carmen :)